“You Oughta Know” (once again)

20130128-110535.jpg

I have a house guest for the week!

Links

Faith & Religion

Richard Beck – The Location of Christianity

Sarah Bessey – In which we numb the light

Rachel Held Evans – The Scandal of the Evangelical Heart and Love: You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

Peter Enns – The Deeper Scandal of the Evangelical Mind: We Are Not Allowed to Use It

Kelly Chripczuk – He runs through the night for her

Law

Stephanie Voudouris – Peeling Back the Court’s Decision in R v NS (this was the case of a Muslim woman who wanted to wear her niqab in court while on the witness stand and is an interesting case study about the limits of religious freedom)

Culture, Society & Life

Soraya Roberts – I Don’t Drink (one day I’ll write about my own experience with this)

Zerlina – How to deal with a mansplainer starring Hillary Clinton in gifs (language warning)

Politics

Andrew Sullivan – The Second Inauguration of Barack Obama

Conor Friedersdorff – The Audacity of Fluff: A Critical Reading of Obama’s Inaugural Address

Aaron Wherry – Tolerating Civil Disobedience

Martin Patriquin – 43 days and for what? Chief Theresa Spence and the status quo

Science & Nature

Gavin Heffernan – Death Valley Dreamlapse

Random & Weird

Mike Krumboltz – ‘Inigo Montoya’ shirt upsets travellers, leads to awkward flight

The Economist – Currency design: A maple [leaf] mishap (only in Canada)

What I’m reading…

Recommended reading…

I love this man’s view of citizenship.

 

Leave a Reply

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Wordgazer's Words

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Brain Pickings

An inventory of cross-disciplinary interestingness

http://annfriedman.com/

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

jessica valenti

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Salon.com

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

The Court

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Vancouver Sun

Western Canada's largest newsroom

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

