“You Oughta Know” (8.0)

I hate it when holidays are over…

Links

Faith & Religion

Gary Thomas – The Corrosive Temptation of Being a Creative

Rev. Matthew Westfox – Blocking birth control coverage: ‘How is that Christian?’

Winn Collier – Tell Me the Truth

Justin Erik Halldor Smith - My Faith: A Confession

from two to one – When I Don’t Trust that God is Good

Shawn – Why the Church Should Quiet Down

Antonia Terrazas – This online thing (or why I am still here, with you)

Loren Siebold – High-contrast Morality

Rachel Held Evans – Swords into ploughshares and hate mail into origami

Libby Anne – …But I’m Still a Christian!

Amy Lepine Peterson – The F-Word: Why Feminism is Not the Enemy

Culture, Society & Life

Kimberly Burge – The Importance of Men seeing Women as Human Beings

Sierra Crane-Murdoch – On Indian Land, Criminals Can Get Away with Almost Anything

Hilary Mantel – Royal Bodies (the media really, really, really fudged the thesis of this)

Dylan Stableford – Mississippi newspaper owner defends gay marriage cover story

The money quote:

We have stories about child molesters, murders and all kinds of vicious, barbaric acts of evil committed by heinous criminals on our front page and yet we never receive a call from anyone saying ‘I don’t need my children reading this.’ Never. Ever. However, a story about two women exchanging marriage vows and we get swamped with people worried about their children.

Traci Lee – Jon Huntsman says legalizing gay marriage is ‘the right thing to do’

Anne Kingston – Lainey Lui: Canada’s gossip magnate (LOVE HER!)

Politics & Law

John Ivison – The Parliamentary Budget Office is a good idea the Tories wish they never had

Steve Benen – Welcome changes of heart on marriage 

Rob Boston – Religious right opens up to church-state separation in California yoga case

Murray Mandryk – Public Crowns balancing Saskatchewan budget

Jeffrey Simpson – The Office of Religious Freedom, more conservative slice and dice

John Allemang – She’s married to a Trudeau, but she’s not your typical political wife

Random & Weird

Raw Story – Police called after man refuses to remove pasta strainer from head (??), Texas bans shooting immigrants from helicopters, Walmart pressing felony charges against employee who ate ‘multiple’ Oreo cookies

Salon – Walmart is an aphrodisiac!

What I’m reading…

          

What I’m watching…

    

You really must watch the first ten minutes of Jon Stewart’s February 19th show, because the Russian dashboard cam clips are priceless.

Here’s a sample:

All of the cows survived, as did the truck driver.

Leave a Reply

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Wordgazer's Words

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Brain Pickings

An inventory of cross-disciplinary interestingness

http://annfriedman.com/

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

jessica valenti

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Salon.com

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

The Court

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Vancouver Sun

Western Canada's largest newsroom

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca » TV Guidance

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca » The World Desk

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Macleans.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, church and other things.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

