"Happy Birthday to me!"

I am now 22 years old. And the first thought that went through my head was, “8 years ’til I’m 30”. Whoa. The number “30” had never entered my head before. I didn’t panic, but it made me feel as I was supposed to be a grown-up now, knowing exactly what I wanted to do with my life and how I was going to go about doing it. But I quickly got over those notions.

I had birthday calls from family starting at 7:30 am this morning! Yeah! I love the “Happy Birthday to you” choruses and good wishes. Heather made me waffles with real whipped cream and strawberries! Mmmmm…. Then we watched a movie my Mom had sent me (thanks Mom!) and then we laid around in our PJs – until 2:00 pm. We then decided we should probably get dressed, so we did. Heather went to the gym at 4:00 pm (and while she was there I went into the coolest kid’s book store on the planet!) and then we headed out to West Vancouver to go to White Spot, which is a BC tradition, apparently. They make THE BEST milkshakes. Mmmmm… After dinner, we, well, we uh, we went to Walmart in North Vancouver. I know – a complete “Nicole birthday”! Heather and I bought tennis rackets, as there’s a tennis court about 2 blocks or so away from our place. I’ve always wanted to play, but I’m not really sure why. I also bought a plant – a cactus actually. I needed to buy something that is easy to take care of; I don’t have much luck with plants. I loved the fake ones I had at Luther. I’ve decided my cactus is male – he’s prickly, that’s why. Name? Undecided. Stay tuned… After our Walmart run, a stop at the RBC for Heather and a spectacular view of the city from the Lions’ Gate Bridge, we returned and I received more birthday phone calls (yeah!) and now I’m sitting at my computer, like usual. It was a great day! The weather was absolutely gorgeous – it honestly could not have been any more beautiful today!

Some more thoughts on yesterday’s game…

People were smoking pot – right in the stands. Honestly, only in BC… But this is the same place where intervenus drug users have their own federation. There were two streakers – after which flashed a sign on the Jumbotron saying “Any unauthorized persons on the field are subject to a $1000 fine.” BC fans don’t understand what “pass interference” is. People, if the defender and receiver are both going for the ball – tough luck! I STILL can’t believe I didn’t tape the Rider game yesterday… And I saw a man with a parrot yesterday. We were stopped at a red light coming home from church and this guy got out of his car and started coming towards us. He turned and went to his trunk – and there was a parrot on his shoulder! It was one of the stranger things I’ve seen, besides a guy in a jeep today with a very, very small pair of underwear on – and that’s it. This is a very strange BC, this place. It might give Taylor Field a run for its money. Who I am kidding – Taylor Field is “the world’s largest outdoor asylum!” If the Riders get a home playoff game, I’ll weep and cry. I’ll cry for joy, and weep that I won’t be there. Oh, well. Grey Cup is here next year!

2 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    Name your cactus Prick….ly 😉 What??!! You said yourself it was a boy cactus.

    I’m going to get beat up eventually.

    Anyways hope you had a fabulous birthday!!! Despite the fact you’re old and all….*please forget that I’m older*

    That’s all for me! So long, lovely!

    Tara

  2. Anonymous said:

    Clearly since I am still older than either of you, I am the oldest man in the world.

    Jeff (waiting patiently for Joel to post)

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

