Thanksgiving musings

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last placed an entry in this blog of mine. I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving; we all have so much to be thankful for. There are so many things I could write in this entry, but I’ll try to keep it short.

1. The Riders: I have not viewed the whole Ottawa/SK game yet (I’m working on it), but one thing is apparent. Our guys need to learn how to protect the ball. We were lucky that there were a few early whistles in this game that prevented fumbles. But kudos to Smilin’ Hank for the game-winning drive. Could he finally be maturing into a REAL quarterback? On second thought, I’d better knock on wood…

2. Hockey: Today was to be the first day of the NHL regular season. I can’t see there being any hockey this season. It’s sad. I was so excited to start betting again, as I won every playoff bet I made last season (with some yet to settle…) including a playoff hockey pool (and you all thought I was nuts picking Eddie the Eagle, who then had, I think it was, what 3 shutouts in the first round?). I was ready to bet again and increase my winning streak. Sadly that will not happen. Stupid players. Greedy owners. At least the Riders are finally playing.

3. Thanksgiving: This was the first Thanksgiving I had spent away from home. It was weird. I have a lot of relatives out here, but I don’t know most of them as they are quite a bit older than me, and they’re from branches of the family tree that extend far beyond mine. It was nice to meet them and some of their friends, though. And wouldn’t you know it, the first relative I saw, Pat, said to me, “I remember the night you were born…”, and I was a stranger no longer. But did she have to comment on how I wouldn’t come out and they finally had to go and get me and how I made my Mom suffer because I wouldn’t leave the womb and how I was blue when I was born and how the first year of my life I wasn’t happy unless I was being rocked, held and sung to and didn’t sleep through the night ’til I was a year old? Like I said – a stranger no longer was I. There was an Iranian couple at Thanksgiving as well, and of course the whole “because of 9/11 do you not feel persecuted?” came up. But it was nicely handled by everyone. And my cousin Laurie’s husband works in the film industry. He’s working on “The Fantastic Four” right now, a film version of the comic strip, starring Jessica Alba, Michael Chiklis (from “The Shield” and formerly of “The Commish”) and Julian McMahon (“Nip/Tuck”). And then we started talking about how shows on HBO really aren’t that great anyways. We decided that “Corner Gas” was much, much better. I also saw more cousins throughout the weekend, and we’re having a big gathering here tonight, since Heather’s parents are here. So much food is all I can say…

4. Halloween: I really don’t like Halloween. I don’t like scary things. But I was surfing the Internet yesterday and came across this idea from the John Kerry site: host a “Bush Scares Me” Halloween party. Check it out at http://www.johnkerry.com/communities/students/. Sadly this is one of the better ideas the Kerry campaign has had. And I love how they refer to Bush’s presidency as “The Bush ‘Error'”. I didn’t see the Friday night debate, but from reading several blogs on CNN (yes, it’s a sad life I lead…) it sounded like Bush was the high-strung, high-on-drugs hare and Kerry was the slow, Muenster-like tortoise. And you know that the tortoise always wins the race. And kudos to Kerry for saying that we need to get back to reality. Unfortunately the Republicans will expose it for all it’s worth, but what he essentially said was that we need to quit fearing terrorists and move forward, not letting them hold us back. He called them “a nuisance” (not the word I would have picked, but oh well…) and said that Americans have more serious issues to worry about that affect many more people, such as health care, education and jobs. FINALLY SOMEONE WHO GETS IT! Yes Iraq is a mess, yes there are terrorists who kill soliders every day, and yes the threat of terrorism is still high. But right now the chance of an American getting killed by a terrorist is miniscule. You have a much better chance of being killed in a car accident or being struck by lightning than being killed by a terrorist, yet some people still drive without seatbelts, while drinking and some people go golfing in a thunderstorm. I know people in the US are worried about terrorists, and they have every right to be, but they need to realize that Bush hasn’t made them any safer, and all the while their social infrastructure is crumbling about them. And I think Kerry gets that. Not that I’m completely “pro-Kerry”, because out of a population of 300,000,000, don’t you think they could have picked someone else for the Democrat nominatino? But I maintain that most of the population is stupid, and it’s mostly the stupid people that vote. Nov. 2nd will be the test of that.

And on that note, it’s off to school. Only 68 days ’til Christmas break for me!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

