Singers (sigh)…

I love singing, otherwise I sure wouldn’t be wasting my money studying out here. But singers, I don’t like them so much.

But it’s not all singers. It’s those singers who say that all they do is go home and listen to opera, every day of the year. If I did that I would shoot myself. What can I say? My attention span is pretty short, unless I’m so completely absorbed in something that it just draws me in and I can’t let go and give in to the moment. But that’s very rare – or only when the Leafs or Riders make the playoffs. But honestly, who are these “singers” who say, “I would die if I lost my voice!” GIVE ME A FREAKING BREAK! If you don’t have a backup plan, you’re living in La-La Land (that’s kind of an unintentional funny pun). If I couldn’t sing anymore it would be pretty heart-wrenching, but I’d be a musicologist (which I’m planning on studying anyways) or I’d study political science or history. I don’t think that just because I don’t committ every second of every day to music that I’m a horrible singer whose gift should be taken away and given to someone else who is “worthy” of it. I’m sorry I don’t know every role Mirella Freni ever played, or know the entire complex plot of “Tosca”, but I’m learning. And besides, I don’t think I’ll ever be singing ANYTHING out of Tosca. I’m not one of those singers that wears my heart on my sleeve walking down the street. It comes out on the stage, where it matters. BUT, that doesn’t mean that when I’m in a masterclass I’m going to just pour my heart out and make it sound like a meeting of “Singers Anonymous” (I think that image is rather hilarious; I’ve been watching way too much “Corner Gas”). I’m a realistic singer. A down-to-earth singer.

I’m proud that I’m a “well-rounded” singer. I’m glad that I can sit down and watch a football or hockey game for three hours and be completely captivated and not think about singing. I’m thankful that I can tell you what’s going on in the news, that I’m politically informed. I believe that knowing these things shape my being and therefore my artistic side just as much as knowing every nuance and note in every Renée Fleming recording.

I wish singers would realize that they are a part of the real world, and that they’re affected by current events and politics. The art forms will NEVER be able to fully support themselves – they haven’t throughout the centuries and sure won’t now. They need government support. And singers need to quit being so elitist and make themselves (most importantly) and singing believeable and accessible, just like sports are (for the most part…).

I’m a singer. I’m committed to my art form. But, I’m also a Rider and Leaf fan, and I love politics and history. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. It gives me so much more experience to draw on in performance.

I’m a singer. Not a “singer”. There’s a difference.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap – CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

