Month-end ramblings

I have been SO bored this week. That’s what happens when you don’t have voice lessons for 2 weeks – you have no goals, and therefore, no motivation to do anything. At least, that’s what happens to me. So, thank you to Joel who let me talk to him for 3 hours yesterday on MSN. Joel, you really are a saint for putting up with me for 3 whole hours while you were trying to write your essay!

Two things before I get to my “rant of the day”. (boredom does that to me – I get “ranty” – more time to think of things that annoy me I guess…). First of all, God must be laughing at me today. Laughing hard. And in good fun. Yesterday I ranted about how tired I was of being approached by Greenpeace and Amnesty International people. Well, today there were anti-abortionists on the corner of Granville and Broadway, right in from of Chapters. And the protesters were men. None of them said anything to me, but if it hadn’t of been raining buckets and if my $40.00 Strauss book hadn’t been getting a little wet, I would have stopped and given them a little piece of my mind. That’s the way I feel today – confrontational. God has a lot of fun with me somedays! Secondly, why must women who wear $500 shirts have such bad hair and makeup! Not that I’m Charlize Theron or anything, but people, that money is being SO misplaced! And thirdly (I said there’d only be 2 things, didn’t I?), I dinged two people with my new Claude Monet umbrella today. Heather bought me my Claude Monet umbrella as a late birthday present, and I love it. But it’s bigger than my other umbrella, and therefore, I need to learn how to maneuver it.

Okay. The main topic, and as reason of some distress in my life: the NHL lockout. I haven’t said much about it yet, but enough is enough people! Thank you to Mike Commodore of the Flames for finally saying something of value this week! I am so fed up with the owners and multi-millionaire players. I’m a little angrier with the players these days, even though the owners are to blame (don’t ask me to explain). Just give me hockey!

I have no reason to look at TSN.ca these days. Their CFL coverage isn’t much because there isn’t much to report on that front. Other than that, the NHL is why I go to TSN.ca. During the hockey season, I can spend hours on that site, looking up standings, schedules, statistics and all of those things that make me a source of completely useless information. TSN.ca is where I check for Leafs scores night after night, silently screaming when the result is unpleasant, realizing I’ve lost money. And the NHL lockout is impeding on my income. After a record number of wins in the betting department last year, I was hoping to carry my momentum into this season. And now that momentum has been crushed. No $20 bet with my Grandpa. No Senators/Leafs or Canucks/Leafs bets. Probably no playoff pool. This lockout has really sucked some of the excitement out of my life. Does Trevor Linden, President of the NHLPA, realize that? I don’t know. The players say they are sorry that the fans are getting the short end of the stick here (another merciless pun – sorry), and the NHL front office is playing upon that sympathy and trying to turn that sympathy into anger against the players. The truth is, neither side cares about the fans. Each person in this situation cares only about himself. Such is the way of human nature. And this lockout won’t end until each person’s “Me and only Me” ego is satisfied. And that won’t happen for a long time, folks (ooh, that sound Bushian – scary, but just in time for Halloween! I’m not funny at all, am I?). It’s going to be a long winter with bad Saturday night TV. I think this thing should be settled by a mediator, with the mediator being Don Cherry. What do you think?

So, in the meantime, TSN must figure out new ways of employing its hockey personalities, CBC has to play crappy movies, and I need to find another source of income. Karaokee contest, anyone?

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

