More Rider fallout and a successful Vancouver debut…

I saw the most hilarious commercial I have yet seen about the (grrrrr….) NHL lockout. It involves a guy wearing a Canucks T-shirt (the T-shirt being the only problem I have with the ad) and going all around Vancouver, and looking in the strangest places for “Hockey”. Over and over again he calls, “Hockey!” “Hockey?” “Hockey!!!!” The commerical finally ends with him sitting beside a dumpster in a back alley, uncontrollably weeping. Then we see the logo of the Vancouver Giants (WHL team) and an announcer telling everyone to tune in to the evening’s news for Giants highlights. I found it amusing.

But what I didn’t find amusing today was the sermon in church. Church ticked me off. Church isn’t supposed to tick you off – it’s supposed to encourage you. I’ll admit that church HAS ticked me off before, but it’s usually some musical thing, or the Thanksgiving Sabbath when our pastor in Rosthern preached a Palm Sunday sermon (!?!?!?). But football was the problem with today’s sermon.

So Pastor Dan comes up to the front, and on the screen behind him comes a super-sized version of the front page of the Vancouver Sun from Monday, November 14th, 2004. And on it – the Lions’ Duncan O’Mahony and the title, “Man Oh Man!” My jaw dropped. How could this man be rehashing last week’s game in church? My wounds were just starting to heal – it was if a scab was being ripped off. And he continued flashing images from various newspapers, recounted the ENTIRE game, put up picture of poor, poor Paul McCallum, and continued pounding out his point – the Lions were behind, and it didn’t seem as if they’d ever win. But they did! I know what the point of the sermon was, but it was lost on me. I was too angry.

So what did I do? I told Pastor Dan after the sermon that as a Rider fan, I was slightly offended – and I was half-joking, half-annoyed. He apologized to me. In his sermon he talked about how the 55,000 people in that stadium cheering the Lions on could be compared to the angels in heaven, cheering us on in our faith journey on Earth. And I thought – hey, what about the Rider fans? Were they the devils’ angels, booing and snickering at the people? I didn’t ask Pastor Dan if he had thought about that part in his object lessonm, but the question should be answered! But having made my point with Pastor Dan, I left church feeling vindicated. I believe God is a Rider fan. And Rider fans are hard done by because God knows that only THEY can handle it. So there (and I know there are going to be some serious arguments against this)!

On Thursday night I made my Vancouver singing debut. And it was fantastic!! I don’t know why, but under the pressure of the lights and the audience, I almost always am able to do my best. And last night I had another show, and it went swimmingly as well! As my co-star said to me, “You sure kicked the crap out of that piece tonight!” 🙂 Having not performed since June, and having a new-found confidence that I gained somewhere in the past week (yeah!), I remembered why I love singing so much. The last couple of months have been riddled with questions for me: “Why am I here?”, “What am I supposed to be doing with this talent of mine?”, “What am I going to do with the rest of my life?”, and “Do I really want to be a singer?” The answer is ‘yes’ to the last one – at least today! There is nothing that compares to the rush of being onstage, in front of an audience and communicating with them in only the way music can – though last week’s Rider game is right up there!

I have one more show with these scenes, and that’s tomorrow. And then it’s to a Grey Cup party! Yeah! I don’t like the Argos OR the Lions, but GO ARGOS! Somebody’s got to put BC in their place…

1 comment
  1. Anonymous said:

    The way I figure it, Nicole, it that if the Lions win, then the Riders loss won’t seem for nothing. I mean, then they will have lost to the FIRST place team, and that better than losing to the SECOND place team.

    However, I don’t watch football, and I realize that the game is on as I type this…. and I actually wanted to ask where you’ve been singing…. but decided to comment on the football issue instead.

    Anyways, keep writing!! Love you sweetie!! ~Jolee

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

