Brrrrrrr…it’s cold in here.

So…

I spent most of the day clothed with two turtlenecks, socks and slippers, gloves at one point, pants (duh), and a blanket around me. I turned up the thermostat a couple of times during the day – nothing. I couldn’t figure out what the heck was going on. The power did go off for a few minutes this morning – but it was cold before that. Well, Heather gets home with this awful movie (Before Sunset – ugh – I watched 20 minutes and gave up) and says, “The heat’s not fixed yet, huh?”. Didn’t know that. It’s not that I didn’t venture out of the condo today. I did. I went to library. The grocery store. Shopper’s Drug Mart. In the rain. I just don’t like to take the elevator – where the “Furnace Broken” sign has been transfixed. I’m actually a little scared of elevators – another one on my list of things that I’m scared of. But I decided to make some more chocolate chip cookies this afternoon and then made meatloaf (a good one – not a Luther cafeteria version) for supper, so with the oven on for a good 2 hours, the condo warmed up quite nicely.

What else did I do today? I watched “Corner Gas”. I love that show. I taped “Making the Cut”. Haven’t watched it yet. Todd Harkins and Kristjan Jefkins were cut last week, so it doesn’t matter who makes it from here on in. Todd Harkins is a 35 year old NHL has-been who auditioned to try and get back in the league. During a scrimmage he gave a two-handed chop with his stick to another guy’s head, ala Marty McSorley and Billy Guerin. For no reason. Sure the other guy had nudged him as he skated by, but a two-handed chop? Come on. “I’m a former NHler and guys should respect that. I’m just creating some space for myself.” Whatever. I’ve never heard of the guy, so he couldn’t have been that great a player. If he was Stevie Yzerman, different story. And Jefkins – he’s annoyed me from the beginning. All talk, no action. It’s the only hockey these days. I am going to go and see the Giants play one of these days, once I coordinate with my Mexican friend, Javier.

Javier is hilarious. He’s a baritone, from Mexico. One day during dress rehearsal last week he came up to me and said, in his thick accent, “So Nicole, I hear you are a Canadian football fan, and a hockey fan. You and I need to go and see some games, football buddy.” And now my name is “Football Buddy”, cadenced with a high-five. Works for me. I have a Mexican football/hockey buddy. How cool is that? And speaking of football, I’m reading “Friday Night Lights”, which follows a Texas high school football team through a season. Very good reading so far. And it’s scary how serious American high school football is. Have you seen Varsity Blues? And once again – no more football, so you’ve got to get it where you can…

I semi-practiced today, too. Semi-practiced you say? Well, it means that I sang some new songs, but I sang them half voice in my condo because I don’t want to get noise complaints from the neighbours, and because I was too lazy to walk to school today in the torrential rain. Also semi-practiced because I sang some new songs with French/German/Italian I haven’t properly figured out how to pronounce yet. So, right notes, homemade words. Most people learn the words first, and then the melody. I have to like the melody first, and then if I like it, I put the words in. And for fun, I took out some musical theater songs – I love Broadway tunes. If I don’t make it as an opera singer, I’m going to be a Broadway star. But not a dancing one.

I also finished my resumée. Oh, I hate résumées and cover letters. I’m applying to music schools in White Rock, Langley and Surrey. They’re looking for voice teachers, and hopefully they’ll hire me! It’s something I’m going to do eventually, so I should get started now. I have taught some voice – and I could teach piano too if they’d like!

La, la, la, la, la. I guess that’s about it. Back to “Friday Night Lights”. Rider training camp can’t come soon enough!

1 comment
  1. Anonymous said:

    Oh Nicole How I miss you!!!
    Jill

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

