Mosquitoes and monsoons…

There was a heavy rainfall warning in effect for the Vancouver area today. Really? I hadn’t noticed the deluge outside of my condo. But the nice thing was that it brought some warmer air with it. Five degrees here is really cold. I’m not becoming weak. Vancouver cold is penetrating and bone-chilling. Saskatchewan cold is…dry. It’s cold, but an external cold. But it’s also like comparing apples to oranges…

Today I heard the most intriguing/interesting song at masterclass. Would you believe that there is a Spanish composer who wrote an entire song about a swarm of mosquitoes bothering a couple as they’re consummating their marriage? Where do they come up with these things? Seriously. One of the lines in the piece has the woman asking for a mosquito net to put around her bed so she and her husband can continue, well…consummating. You learn something new everyday! Master class was a hoot today. It was as if everyone had had a chocolate bar for lunch. Everyone was hyper and the jokes were flying. It was a good time had by all.

After getting home from school, I traipsed downtown. Heather, Orest and I headed to Tinseltown, which is right beside GM Place, to see Bridget Jones’s Diary 2. First we had supper in their food court. Then, because we had time to kill, we voyaged to T&T Supermarket, an Asian supermarket where I felt like a giant. Intersesting things in that place, like duck eggs, canned vegetarian roasted duck (see a pattern here), and live crabs, and many more odd things. I honestly didn’t find it that entertaining.

BJ2. Good movie. Not as good as the first, but it was hilarious to once again see Hugh Grant and Colin Firth fighting like girls. Speaking of fighting…I’m getting back to my old self. It struck me today, after the incident occurred, that I haven’t hit anyone since I got here. It’s usually my first instinct when someone has said something I deem inappropriate or mocking, or just because. Well, Mexican football/hockey buddy Javier was irritating me in the library today as I was trying to translate German text. So, I did what I would normally do. I hit him. With my German verb book. He whimpered. I felt back in my element again. And my sarcasm is returning – ’bout time.

Anyways, time for bed. And I don’t have to wear 4 layers of clothing tonight – the heat’s back on!

1 comment
  1. Sorry to post two comments in a day, but I had to back you up about the cold. I don’t think it’s been even 10 degrees here, and I’ve been complaining about it. Add the air conditioners that people have on all the time, and it’s freezing! I can take a Saskatchewan winter any day, but the Taiwan cool season is something else. Keep warm…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

