You’re a little shining star!

Where to begin?

I put the Christmas tree up on Wednesday. I’m quite proud of it, as it’s the first real-sized tree I’ve actually put together by myself. My little 12-inch trees from Walmart in Christmases past just don’t count. It just makes me think, “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire…” What can I say? I’m a Christmas freak. If you don’t believe it, you should see the Barbie Advent calendar I have in my room. A chocolate everyday until New Years’s (that’s what makes this calendar so special. It doesn’t stop at Christmas). It’s not great chocolate, but it’s chocolate nonetheless.

Now, about my being a little shining star…

I have weird dreams. Who doesn’t, though mine are always a little bit weirder than normal. The classic example is the dream involving Mats Sundin, which happened during the NHL playoffs a couple of years ago.

My Grandma Hamm and I were riding horses in some foreign land. It looked like Arizona or New Mexico to me, thinking back now. Somehow our horses got spooked, and Grandma and I both fell, and the horses ran away. Now, in walks Mats Sundin, out of nowhere, decked out in full hockey gear, hockey stick, skates and all. He finds us and picks my Grandma up, cradles her in his arms and walks her to safety, while I’m still laying on the ground because I’m hurt. So the dream ends with Mats Sundin and my Grandma walking off into the sunset, with me watching after them, yelling to try and get their attention and save me, too.

Now the other night I had some real good dreams. Three of them in fact, all linked together by one fact: I was in Newfoundland. Interesting location I must say. Part 1 begins on a warm summer day. I meet one of my former junior high teachers who’s a big Boston Bruins fan – not that that’s important. He asks if I want to play hockey with him (notice a link between my dreams?). I say sure, and we walk off to Walmart to find me a hockey stick. We look at the hockey sticks they have, but I see that none of them are good enough. So, I decide to make my own hockey stick, and buy a 2×4 of wood. Part 1 ends with me walking out of Walmart with this 2×4 and then meeting a high school teacher who’s actually the brother of the junior high teacher (only in Rosthern…). Fade out. I actually woke up, thought it was weird, and went back to sleep.

Part 2: Still in Newfoundland. But I’m inside an auditorium, back stage, with…Hugh Grant and Colin Firth! Seems that we’re doing a promotional for “Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason”, and I was the actress who played Bridget. Renée who?!?! And that is why I’m a little shining star. Anyways, I’m backstage talking to my fellow actors, and we’re discussing how we should walk out. Colin Firth comes up with the idea that he’ll give me a piggyback ride onto the stage. I say, “Okay!” and jump on his back. And out we go onstage, Hugh Grant, Colin Firth and I, to the screams of Newfoundland Bridget Jones addicts. I’m famous.

Part 3: After the photo-op and whatnot, I walk outside of the auditorium to my brand new car. I’m famous now – I can afford one. I find that there’s been a huge winter storm in the meantime, and the streets are pure ice. I try to cross the street, not at a crosswalk for some dumb reason, and almost get hit by a car trying to cross. I jump in my new car and have trouble locating the lights, windshield wipers and other crucial things. Once I get that all sorted out, I head onto the street. I almost hit things numerous times, and even do a 360 at one point. And then this gigantic hill, maybe even a mountain, comes out of absolutely nowhere, and I have to go up it, even though it’s really icy. So, I do, and I make it to the top. And then…I woke up.

And it was weird to wake up because it all felt so real. But it wasn’t. I’m not a famous actress. And I don’t have a brand new car. And I can’t make a hockey stick out of a 2×4. Oh well.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

