PJs are the most comfortable things…

I don’t remember the last full day I spent in my PJs before today. It was probably in summer when I was home. Not that it really matters. But I had a productive day. I’ve been doing a little work for Heather’s company, and after thirteen and a half hours, I updated their database. I can now tell you that the postal code for anything going to the City of Vancouver’s City Hall is V6Y 1V4. And that the postal code for the provincial government’s post office is V8W 9V1. And that 604 is only the area code for the Greater Vancouver area. For the rest of the province, it’s 250. I’m not sure if anything of these things will be useful to me, because it’s not as if “Postal Codes” is a category on Jeopardy or in Trivial Pursuit.

So obviously my weekend wasn’t terribly exciting. Friday night was worship band practice at church, and then once back at home we watched “A Big Called Wanda”, or “A Big Fish Called Wanda” as I once mistakenly refered to it. I’d never seen the movie before. Pretty funny. But those poor puppies. I just about cried as they, well, you know… Our cousin Heidi stayed for night and we had a good visit. I got up for church on Saturday while the other slept. And slept. And slept. I returned at 12:35, and the girls were still sleeping. I left for school for a rehearsal, and they were still sleeping. I returned at 3:30. And they were gone. Went for a walk. When they returned, Heidi and I ventured out to New Westminster to Molly’s house where we painted her spare room. And I ended up more “balmoral red” (aka burgundy) than the room. My ability to make a mess is astounding. I got paint in my hair, everywhere on my pants and shirt. And I found it on the soles of my feet this morning.

After the 2nd coat of paint, Heidi and I left. Since she had to head back to Aldergrove, which is east of New West, and I had to head west to Vancouver, I took the SkyTrain back. Thankfully Heidi explained the route I would take, otherwise I would have been very confused at the Commercial Drive stop when they told everyone to get out. That’s where the old SkyTrain line merges with the new one. Anyways, I was a little freaked out waiting all alone at 11:00 at night on the SkyTrain platform. I strategically placed myself right in front of the emergency alarm in case anything should happen. There was anothe guy on the other side of the tracks, but he soon got on the eastbound train and I was all alone. But then I noticed some security officials, and all was well.

Looking out of the SkyTrain at night is something else. The view is amazing. And the trip would have been more enjoyable had I not had to hear the sounds of a couple making out in the seat behind me. And if this kid wouldn’t have kept wandering from car to car to car and back again. When I got to the Granville Station, I headed for the bus stop after taking the long, long, long escalator up from the SkyTrain. And when I say long – it’s long. I get dizzy looking down. I’m scared to fall everytime I go up that thing. And then I waited for a bus. Any bus that would get me over the Granville bridge.

So I boarded the 10 Granville bus. And then it told us all to get off somewhere around Granville and Robson I think. It told us to go to the bus behind us. So I did, not realizing that he didn’t really mean that bus. Too late I noticed I was on the UBC 4 bus. Had it been the UBC 17 bus, it would have been okay. It stops at the corner of Broadway and Granville, where I usually get off anyways. But the UBC 4 bus turns right after the Granville Bridge. Had another girl not pulled the stop chain, I would have ended up somewhere southeast of where I needed to be. And that’s when I lost my pencil.

I hate losing things. I’m still angry about my chenille scarf I lost last winter. I don’t lose things often. I’m more of a misplacer – and that happens often. It’s quite normal for me to use 3 pens in an hour as I can’t find them after I put them down, only to later find them in a drawer, on the floor or back in my pen jar where they should be. Anyways, I had to disembark my bus quickly, as I was slow to decide on waiting for the next stop or not. And my pencil fell out of my pocket. And I left the poor thing sitting on the floor, not stopping for a second to pick it up. It’s bothered me all day. My poor pencil, laying there, cold and alone on a Vancouver bus, just to be thrown in the garbage. I hope someone picked it up and gives it a good home. I know this is weird. I know pencils don’t have feelings. But you’re talking to someone who will only wear the socks she first grabs because she feels bad if she discards it for another sock. I obviously have some subconscious emotional issues I need to work out…

My trip from New West to home took an hour. It was surprisingly midnight when I got home. And I was quite happy to get home and out of the monsoon. And today the sun shone. And what did I do? I sat around in my PJs. Another backwards move on my part…

Oh, and I did I mention that it was sunny, 6 degrees and the only snow around is on top of the mountains, and it shimmerings in the sunlight? Sorry if I didn’t…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

