I’m an idiot – continued…

(Ed note: I started writing this a few days ago and forgot about it. So, some of it is from Friday, and some of it is from Sunday. Not that it really matters…)

I would like to once again admit my idiocy. And I’m even more of an idiot now, because I don’t think that idiocy is a word. Anways…

In my last entry I was lamenting the fact that I had lost a chance to go and see NHL hockey this weekend. Well, I looked again the next day and found a ticket. And once again I thought about it and lost it. If I get one again, I refuse to think. I will just buy it and be done with it. But there’s no chance of that happening. Todd Bertuzzi is apparently coming to play, so I’m sure any tickets are gone. But I’m still hoping something will show up on Ticketmaster…

Today was a very lazy day. The incessant rain and monsoon-like weather has just drained any energy out of me. I haven’t seen the sun since Sunday, and it’s getting a little annoying. When I finally yanked myself outside this afternoon, I decided to try and do a little Christmas shopping. I have no idea what to get my family. The presents need to be small so that they fit in my suitcase. They can’t be too terribly expensive. And I’d like them to be something you just wouldn’t find in Saskatchewan – a novelty item if you will. But this is proving to be difficult.

This blog is turning into a movie review site. I saw three movies this weekend. I rented Cold Mountain and Welcome to Mooseport last night. Welcome to Moosepart was pretty funny. Ray Romano wasn’t as annoying as I thought he was going to be. And Gene Hackman was hilarious as the ex-President. Good supporting work from Marcia Gay Harden and Maura Tierney, who always plays a great scorned girlfriend (remember Liar, Liar?). It’s predictable as anything, but was good for a laugh, especially after Cold Mountain…

This is a movie I should have seen months ago, but put off for one reason or another. It was worth the wait. I would like to say that I love Jude Law even more with a Southern accent. His voice is deeper and less boyish. While watching this movie, it struck me how brilliant of an actor he is. Moving on… Nicole Kidman is great and Renée Zellweger – my favorite actress right now – is just brilliant as Ruby. The movie is haunting and dark, and never becomes terribly sappy when the opening is there. The music is astonishing – I might just have to buy the soundtrack. It’s very touching and speaks to the brutality that is war, which is very relevant today. I spent a great deal of today just watching commentaries on it (I had not much else to do…), and the painstaking detail that goes into an epic such as this is nothing short of insanity. But it was worth it with this movie.

And tonight I indulged in Ocean’s Twelve. A good, guilty pleasure. This movie is fun. Pure enjoyment. Nothing serious or moralistic about it at all – and it doesn’t try to be. It realizes that it’s just there to put butts in the seats and make money – and that’s all. The only unfortunate thing was that Catherine Zeta Jones was in it. And a big part of it. I have never been a big fan of her. I don’t really know why. I highly recommend it, but I was surprised that it’s almost 2 hours long. Mind you, when each actor is making a good $10 million, it’d better be more than 90 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

