A New Year’s Quiz

1. What did you do in 2004 that you’d never done before?: Hmmmm…moved out of province, saw the ocean for the first time, went to NYC, went to Washington and Oregon – lots of things

2. Did you keep your New Years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?: Well, I did for parts of the year. I made more this year, as per usual. And so far – not so good.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?: Nope.

4. Did anyone close to you die?: No – thank goodness.

5. What countries did you visit?: The USA three times: NYC in February, Oregon in October and Washington in November.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?: A boyfriend. Money. Less stress and worry.

7. What dates from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?: Febraury 14th – Valentine’s Day with Tara in NYC, April 4th – graduation recital, June 8th – convocation from the UR, September 6 – the day I left SK for BC, November 14th – Western Final: Riders vs. Lions – a classic for years to come

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?: Convocating with Great Distinction, surviving my first four months in BC, winning my hockey pool. 🙂

9. What was your biggest failure?: A few that I won’t mention.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?: Many bruises, but like usual, I don’t know from what. I had a cold in July and flu just before New Year’s.

11. What was the best thing you bought?: My trip to NYC, plane ticket back to SK for Christmas.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?: Ummm…Henry Burris. Eddie Belfour for his 3 shutouts in the first round of the NHL playoffs. Jon Stewart’s “Daily Show”. My Mom for putting up with me during the long “I’m lonely!” phone calls from BC.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?: The BC Lions, Philadelphia Flyers, NHLPA, Gary Bettman, Todd Bertuzzi, Paul Martin, GW Bush

14. Where did most of your money go?: School and a wardrobe overhaul.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?: Christmas! I have never been more excited for a holiday in my life!

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?!: The Reason – Hoobastank. Good song.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? Sadder. I’m missing home and sad that I don’t have a job or income yet.

ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner. 🙂

iii. richer or poorer? Poorer by a long shot.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Laughing. Spending time with family and friends.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Stressing and worrying.

20. How did you spend Christmas? With family in Rosthern. And it was wonderful.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004? Not really.

23. How many one-night stands? None. Come on, this is me, people.

24. What was your favorite TV program? Corner Gas, hands down.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Not hate. But dislike, yes.

26. What was the best book you read? I can’t pick one: Fast Food Nation, Friday Night Lights, The Kiterunner

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? That my voice is bigger than I actually think it is. Scary, huh? I now have the ability to shatter windows! Um, not really…

28. What did you want and get? I wanted a new good voice teacher.

30. What was your favorite film of this year? I can’t pick one here, either: Shrek 2, anything with Jude Law, Ocean’s Twelve, Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?: I turned 22 on October 3rd. I ate waffles with strawberries and whipped cream, watched a movie, went out for supper and crowned the evening by going to Walmart. Seriously.

Where is 32?

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004? Oh dear… 2004 was the year Nicole became a clothes horse. I am not allowed to buy anymore clothes ’til 2006. My style: classic elegance.

34. What kept you sane? My Mom. And Corner Gas episodes. And Jude Law.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Um…Jude Law?

36. What political issue stirred you the most? Voting fraud in the American election

37. Who did you miss? All of my family and friends not located in BC.

38. Who was the best new person you met? Molly. She’s freaking fantastic!

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004: Stressing and worrying does not get you anything but more stress and worry.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: “I will survive. Oh, as long as I know how to love, I know I’ll stay alive.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

