Vancouver to Langley and back again…

I made my professional teaching debut yesterday, and I realized one very important thing: I will not be teaching piano or voice lessons out of my home for the rest of my life. I knew this beforehand, but I actually came to the realization that I would go crazy if that happened.

I went and was a substitute teacher at the Walnut Grove School of Music out in Langley. It’s a 2 1/2 hour commute EACH WAY. I didn’t get home until after 11:00 last night, and worried the heck out of Heather and my Mom, who was waiting for me to call her. I didn’t realize it would take so long. But I had to catch a bus to the SkyTrain, then get on the SkyTrain, hop off way out in Surrey and then take a 1/2 hour bus ride to get to Langley. The bus connections in the evening are not so good. I had to wait a good 45 minutes for a bus after I was done teaching.

I mostly taught piano yesterday – beginner piano. Oh how little kids can pound those keys. And how they can’t count. I did so much pencil-banging because of the lack of a metronome and so much clapping out of rhythms. But the kids were cute. And I think they liked me. One of the parents sat in on her daughter’s lesson and told me afterwards, “She really liked you. You have a way with her that she really responds to.” I highly doubt that. I think I was just lucky to have great kids. I even had to teach a choir of 5 year olds, one of which told me I had as good of a singing voice as their teacher and that I even looked like her. Score two for me! Luckily only 3 of them showed up, and the choir of 8 year olds didn’t show up at all. I played instrument recognition games, and singing games with the 5 year olds, and then we sang some of their songs including the great hit, “I Wish I Were A Fish”. Why do I wish I was a fish? “I wouldn’t have to eat my vegetables, I wouldn’t have to go to bed, I wouldn’t have to do my homework. I wouldn’t have to do the things I HATE!” (directly quote from the song) And then the kids proceeded to yell out the things they hate. Mushrooms was the overwhemingly popular answer.

But I also came to the conclusion yesterday that I have no idea how to teach someone to sing. I don’t know how to explain things in simple enough terms. I know how I do it, but I can’t tell someone with a breathy voice how to round out the tone. And I also realized that I can’t teach someone to sing, “How Do I Live” by Trisha Yearwood. One of the girls brought in a book of pop music and that’s what she sang for the 30 minutes. How do you teach someone who clearly wants to be the next Kelly Clarkson? I just don’t know…

It was a great experience for me and I actually enjoyed it more than I thought I would. By the end of it I didn’t want to hear one more C major scale, but I think that’s normal. But when I got home Heather told me that I could have taken her car out to Langley, since she wasn’t using it. And that, my friends, would have saved me 1 1/2 hours – each way.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

