An interesting weekend…

It rained all week. Don’t worry. That’s not the interesting part.

On Friday I got my new scenes assignments for opera scene class. I’m Fiordiligi in the Act II Finale of Cosi fan tutte by Mozart and Melissa (I get to be a magician!) in Handel’s Amadigi. Two lead roles again. Yeah! But the 60 pages of Italian I have to learn in the next week is the bad part. I got through about 5 pages today. Oy vey.

I had my first minor traffic accident on Friday night. I was driving down Oak Street when I guy decided to turn left right in front of me. I slammed on my brakes and was able to stop. But a second after I stopped I moved forward a bit because I was pushed by the guy behind me. My first rear-end accident. Both cars were fine and IT WASN’T MY FAULT. I phoned my Mom to report what had happened and her response was, “Nicole! Heather’s car!!” Um, what about me? Granted the fact that I had called her basically meant that I was okay, but still…

Last night we went out to Aldergrove for a games night with cousins and friends. But my cousins really have to stop re-hashing the stories of me as a little kid. Yes, I only ate chicken noodle soup and vanilla ice cream for lunch for an entire summer when Heidi babysat me. And I know I covered my eyes every time I walked into church (I later used sunglasses as my protective shield – I didn’t think anyone could see me through them…). And yes my poor Dad had to carry me down the aisle at my Auntie Cindy’s wedding. And there was that one time my Grandpa was preaching in church and I started waving my naked Barbies around, singing “If we have no clothes today!” at the top of my lungs (I knew my career path way back then…). They’re good stories. But they’re old. Everyone’s heard them. Anyways…

We played some movie trivia game requiring a DVD player, or in our case, a computer with DVD-playing capabilities. It was fun. I really don’t know too many ’80s movies I realizied. But I rule at all girly/romantic comedy movies and musicals. The final Jeopardy-type question on “The Wizard of Oz”. I owned that one. The other team luckily guessed the right answer as well, but we still won. It was a lot more fun than Taboo was. I can’t stand that game…

Tonight I went for coffee with Michelle Kayter! The first familiar Regina face I’ve seen since I moved here! We met a Calhoun’s, a very cool coffee houes/pub that has live jazz on Sunday and Thursday nights. We caught up on what’s been happening in our lives and relived some moments from Luther, including the morning Michelle called me at 7:30 am and told me that she couldn’t get out of her room. She honestly couldn’t. Maintenance guy Andre had to finally come and remove the lock from her door. She had a test that morning, too, so it was kind of urgent that she get out. It was funny to me then, and it’s still funny to me now.

And now for a rant (I haven’t had one on here for awhile). To the NHLPA and NHL. Pull the plug. I’m tired of the back and forth bickering. Just call the season. I don’t care anymore. You guys have ruined the game. Congrats there. That’s all I have to say (well, not really, but I don’t want to be up all night…).

And here’s a great forward that Dana sent me:

THE FLU SHOT

In recent negotiations for influenza vaccine between a Canadian health official and an American representative, it was clear that there was a disconnect between the American government’s sudden reliance on Canada for influenza vaccine despite the fact that the U.S. wants to discourage Americans from buying routine prescription drugs from Canadian pharmacies. Not seeing the irony in the request, the American continued to press for the vaccine and then demanded to know why the United States would be charged for the vaccine when Canadians get theirs “for free.” The Canadian official replied, “Oh it’s not free, the government pays for it.” “Well then,” the American replied, “How much will it cost us?” The Canadian replied, “Well, we don’t know…we’ll let you know.” In frustration, the American replied, “Well, it’s urgent, so just send an invoice with the shipment. By the way…how will the vaccine be delivered?” After careful consideration, the Canadian official replied, “By cow. Twenty vials of vaccine will be tied around the neck of every cow that passes over the border. Now…if you want faster delivery, there are some some softwood lumber trucks available…”

I thought it was funny…

Well, I’m off to bed. Tomorrow I head out to Coquitlam to meet a woman who wants to offer me a permanent position teaching voice one day a week at her music academy. I told her I’ve only recently started teaching, and she wants me to coach senior level students, but she insisted I come and see her. I may have a degree in voice, but that doesn’t mean I can really teach it yet. Wish me luck!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

