BAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I had a good day. Really. Until right now. I went to the gym, did a BodyFLOW class (tai-chi, pilates and yoga all in one – it’s fantastic!), went to masterclass, had a really good practice, came home, had supper, watched a little “American Idol”, talked to Mom and was fine. But then I started flipping through the channels and came across Sportsnet and the coverage of, you guessed it, the NHL/NHLPA “War of the Morons”.

I am SOOOOOOOOO sick of hearing about this stupid CBA. Just call the freaking season already! I became so incensed that I just about fired off a what would have been completely useless e-mail to the NHLPA. Did you know that there’s only one little link on the side of the page about the CBA? There’s no big lockout news on it’s site. It’s treating things as if they’re all hunky dory. Whatever. Instead, I decided to rant on my blog here, light some candles and listen to Norah Jones to try and calm me down. And breathe…

All I know is that each side is being stupid, and I honestly think the players are being more dumb at this point. But they’re all acting like spoiled children. Once again: you people are ENTERTAINERS (I know – I’m one too for argument’s sake). You do not save lives. You do not fight fires. You do not put your life on the line for public safety. You do not teach children how to read. Am I saying that entertainment’s not important? No, because I’d be singing up the wrong staff (ha ha ha ha!) if that was the case (but – music can also be highly political, hockey, well, it can be debated, but that’s for another time and another place). Arts and culture only add to a society, as do physical feats. But $6 million a year? I do not think so. Henry Burris wanting $100,000 a year for 18 games (the guy’s started in the CFL for 1 1/2 seasons and he already wants Dave Dickenson money. Is he on crack? If he was BC he’d be on heroin. Say, have you heard about the free heroin they’re giving out in Vancouver’s East Side? Free heroin is going to make the East Side safer. Um, okay… Sorry for the digression – I’m ticked off right now, and that’s what happens…) is also ridiculous. He plays football. A whole 18 games a season. And possibly 3 more (ooooh – 3 more weeks!) if they make the playoffs, Division Finals and Grey Cup.

BUT WHAT ABOUT ME? I’m the sorry person who, because of my unwaranted and unreturned passion and heart for all things hockey and football, pays to see these dorks play. Now, I’ll support the Riders any day. They’re in a Canadian league, they’re Saskatchewan owned and operated, and they’re really the only thing Saskatchewanites can actually rally around (except for those “NFL rules everything” people) – that and Telemiracle (oh my word, I’m not going to be able to watch Telemiracle this year – that’s a tradition for me. That’s it. I’m moving back. Seriously.). But the NHL and NHLPA are taking my love for granted. So, I’m leaving them. I’m going to ignore them. And if they ever do decide to quit being morons, negotiate a deal that’s going to actually be able to sustain the league and quit dividing the league into various financial castes where the same sorry teams suck year after year (exception: the Leafs. They are always the exception, just like the Riders. I need new teams…), they’re going to have to woo me back with more than $2.00 roses and cheap champagne (see the Valentine’s allusion? Oh, and I was going to do that Valentine’s quiz and put it up on my website, but every questions would have had “not applicable” on it. Freaking singledom. Maybe the NHL isn’t the only thing that’s making me cranky right now…). I want to see hockey for free. That’s right. Free games. And free programs. And for the Leafs to actually ice a team that doesn’t qualify for the Senior Men’s Saturday Night Rec League. Yeesh. They’re going to have to make it up to me – big time.

But I know it’s not going to happen. None of it. I’m going to sit here, pining away for my little NHL, waiting for it to come back. And like a true sucker, I’ll pay to see Markus Naslund (if he ever comes back from Europe) play, I’ll check TSN every night to see now badly the Leafs lost and I’ll watch CBC on Saturday nights again. I know I will. I miss hockey that much. I’ve tried to be indifferent. But I can’t be. As annoyed as I am at the constant “will their be a season?” question, I still secretly hope it’ll be resolved.

And so on Valentine’s Day the NHL and NHLPA will annouce the cancellation of the season with sad faces, saying they tried to work it out. Yeah right. And in one foul swoop, they’ll have screwed over each and every fan that loves hockey so much. Happy Valentine’s Day, indeed. Reporting for Nicola’s Stage.com, I’m Nicole Hamm.

2 comments
  1. Nicole, don’t ever change. Great post – you did an excellent job of including parenthesis and bunny trails in your rant (sorry…the English teacher coming out in me). Thanks for the sports update. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. Nicole said:

    I just reread my post and saw that there were a heck of a lot of errors in the copy. I was typing very quickly as I was angry. Please forgive me! I really can spell!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

