A Vancouver Valentine’s Day (2nd edition)

How do you like the alliteration in the title? What can I say – I’m me. Once again, this is the 2nd edition of this post because my ability to screw things up is quite impressive. I deleted this column, and then spilled red juice on a white carpet – yes they’re both Valentine’s Day colors, but, did I really have to do that? Anyways, here goes…

Some people are useless. This has nothing to do with Valentine’s Day, but it was just something I had to get off of my chest. Done. Moving on…

This Valentine’s Day was very different from last year’s. Why? First of all, I’m in a location. “Well duh!” you tell yourself. But I was in a different COUNTRY last Valentine’s. I was in New York, New York! I don’t remember much of it – I’d have to consult my little daily travel log which is back in SK. I think we took a bus tour of Manhattan that day, and then we went to a movie at a theatre just off Times Square in the evening. What movie? I can’t remember and it’s been bugging me for about 24 hours now. Tara – what movie did we see??

Anyways, today was a beautiful Valentine’s Day. I thought I’d be totally bitter about being a singleton for the 22nd year in a row, but I haven’t been. It’s all been okay because of something I read. Valentine’s is about love – yes. But it’s not just romantic love. I am loved much more than I deserve by my family who supports me no matter what (even through this crazy opera thing). I have a great network of friends who make me laugh and let me pester them. I am truly blessed. Awwww…

So what did I do to celebrate this day? I went and sang at the German Canadian Care Home, but is next to the Icelandic Care Home, which is next to the Finlandic (?) Care Home – seriously. I’m not making this up. I wish I could make this kind of stuff up. Anyways, I sang with a guy from school named John (who’s 6’3″ – what’s with all of these tall guys in Vancouver?!?!), and we were accompanied by our conductor, Frank, who’s not 6’3″. We did an hour program – a “Happy Hour” program to be precise. And I mean “Happy Hour” in the true German sense: beer was flowing. This is a nursing home. People are on medication and can’t drink alcohol. Apparently the people gathered in the salarium could – or at least I hope they could. It was one of the funnier things I’ve witnessed out here. The other funny thing was that there were dogs wandering around. There are 2 dogs that live in the home. And one of them was sniffing up my skirt while I was singing – a totally new level of concentration had to be achieved in order to get through that aria! It was a lot more fun than I had envisioned beforehand, and the people truly appreciated our music. Plus, it was a great opportunity to get to sing some repertoire in front of an audience.
Tonight I watched “Bridget Jones’s Diary”, one of my all-time favorite romantic comedies, and that was my Valentine’s Day. Nothing terribly special, but good all the same.

1 comment
  1. Anonymous said:

    Nicole dear, how could you forget? It was “Win a date with Tad Hamilton”! Ok, clearly not a memorable film by any means, but sweet nonetheless. I wish we were in New York right now, too. I miss that city! We’ll have to go back some day.

    Anyways, glad to hear all is well and take care of yourself!

    Love you lots,
    Tara

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

