Hold your horses…

I think I’ve finally lost it. I really. I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I’ve been listening to a lot of country music the last couple of days. It’s all I want to listen to. I had Shania Twain’s “Come on Over” in my portable CD player for a good 4 days, until I changed it today. And I changed it to Sixpence None the Richer. Whoa. I must be in some weird nostalgic place.

It is funny how powerful music is. Shouldn’t I know? Anyways, there are some songs and CDs that remind you of times in your life. The Sixpence None the Richer disc reminds me of Grade 12. Shania Twain’s “Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under?” reminds me of my grandparents’ 40th anniversary (not because of their boots being under anyone else’s beds but their own, but because of the midnight trip I took to Saskatoon with my Auntie Natalie to get more ribbon to wrap up party favors, and the song was playing, and…whatever). John Mayer’s “Room for Squares” – this past summer (even though I know the CD is a couple of years old). “The Reason” – last spring. Martina McBride’s “There You Are” – 2nd year university when my Napster days were in full swing. Sister Hazel’s “Winter” – Grade 12. Rascal Flatts’ “I Melt” – opera camp in Edmonton. Odd? Yes. Why? Because I was in a country mood while there (you need something to keep you sane when you’re surrounded by opera for 10+ hours every day for a month) and that song was always on the radio. Country music = good memories…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

