Saturday Night In…

I thought about going to a movie tonight, but I’m way too tired, and way too lazy. I had rehearsal this morning, and getting up for that was a chore. So, when I got home this afternoon, I watched “Kiss Me Kate”, the famous Cole Porter musical that I absolutely adore, and then read magazines until supper. After that I walked down to Shopper’s Drug Mart to get another magazine (why not?), a snack and now I’m back again, lazing around. So, I thought I’d share a few thoughts again. And I can because it’s my blog. So, here goes…

Congrats to the Women’s World Hockey Team. World Champions for eight years. Until today. There are one of the most underappreciated teams in all of sports history. Their dominance on the international level is right up there with the Soviet teams of the 60s and 70s. But because they lost today (in a shootout – have I mentioned before how much I HATE shootouts? It’s a team game, people. Come on. Remember the ’94 Olympic games? Canada vs. Sweden. Gold medal hockey game. Shootout. And then Peter Forsberg’s goal? My dislike for him started right then and there…) they won’t be remembered? Why? Because the Soviets won 9 straight world titles, and that would have tied a world record. But they came up one short. But a standing ovation to you gals. One world championship is a dream. But 8? Freaking fantastic. I hope there wasn’t a loonie buried in the ice. Otherwise that folk legend will cease and desist…

Randy Ferbey, you are one lucky son of an Alberta gun. There’s no way you should have won against Pal Trulsen. And no way you should have won today. You’re still no Sandra Schmirler (and yes I know that Sandra was a female and Randy is a male) in the class department, but, whatever.

Another reason that the NHL and NHLPA are insane: Why the heck would you up the number of teams making the playoffs from 16 to 20? Sure, more playoff revenue. Sure, more playoff bonuses for players. Sure, happy fans in the crappier markets. But come on! The number of teams that don’t make the playoffs will almost be the same as the number of teams that don’t in the CFL for crying out loud (I know I’m exaggerating…) – and the NHL has 19 more teams! Well, you’d better cut the number of regular season games to 30 then, otherwise hockey will be year round. Letting 20 teams make the playoffs just makes for a crappier standard of hockey. Get rid of it. Get rid of the red line, have touch icing and smaller goalie equipment and call it a day. And NO shootouts! Just be like baseball (and how often can you say that????). The game can’t end in a tie.

Would everybody shut up about Charles and Camilla? Let them be happy! Yes, they did some not very nice things to Diana (and vice versa), but you and I ain’t exactly perfect either.

I watched “The West Wing” for the first time in like, a year, this week. Alan Alda vs. Jimmy Smits to be the next POTUS. Um, Alan Alda in a walk. Even if he is playing the Republican nominee, I’d vote him. And Terri Polo as Jimmy Smits’ wife? Heh?

In the bakery the other day, I saw a birthday cake that read, and I’m not joking: “Happy Birthday June! Love, The Anti-Racist Squad”. Most hilarious birthday cake I’ve ever seen. And the weirdest.

I’m very angry that the beautiful view in my window that looks out to the west will soon be obscured by a new apartment complex. Couldn’t they have stopped at 5 floors? Why 6?

I love crossword puzzles. Love them, love them, love them.

I miss my puppy…

Whoa. Cookie Monster will now be singing, “Cookies Are a Sometimes Food”, instead of “C is for Cookie, that’s good enough for me.” That’s wrong. Sesame Street is trying to teach kids about healthy eating since obesity in kids is reaching epedemic proportions. But leave Cookie Monster alone! I don’t think he’s the one causing kids to be obese. I think it’s some red-haired clown named Ronald…

Have a good night everyone!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

