Gravel bars are sexy places…

That’s a quote from the Vancouver Aquarium. It’s the sign over one of the salmon spawning places. I thought it was funny…

Ah – a weekend off. Glory be! And what a glorious weekend it was – both weatherwise and relaxing-wise. My Mom and I had a fantastic time.

We spent Friday riding around on transit, eating, shopping and then eating some more. We headed downtown first of all to Ward Music – the biggest classical music store I have ever seen. I was in absolute heaven. And came out empty-handed (but I get paid on Friday!) Then off to the Pacific Centre Mall. Where we both came out empty-handed. Weird, huh? Then we traveled to this quilting shop. My Mom was in heaven. And came out a member of a quilt-of-the-month club. Then, we headed out to the Olive Garden in Langley where we ate way too much, talked so much, and had the dippiest waiter. I hate it when they crouch down at the table to talk to you. Stand up for crying out loud!

On Saturday we headed to church and then trekked around Granville Island all afternoon. It wasn’t that busy for a Saturday – which was surprising. Mom bought me the most beautiful scarf (see picture) and a stunning necklace – for $20! We discovered the best jewellery store. All original works – and some not that expensive! Back at home we ate some more, and then went to see the new Ashton Kutcher/Amanda Peet movie “A Lot Like Love”. It wasn’t too bad. I wasn’t in the mood for suspense (like “The Interpreter”), and this was our best option.

On Sunday we went to the Aquarium! I’d never been – and I LOVED it! Squid, octopus and other creepy crawly things freak me out, but the dolphins and belugas – so cute! I’ve decided that I know want to be a dolphin/whale trainer. Don’t worry – the novelty will wear off – it always does. We then walked through a bit of Stanley Park (the whole thing would take a week), ate, headed home, ate, and rented a movie – “Friday Night Lights”. I haven’t finished watching it – I couldn’t stay awake anymore to finish it. But so far, it’s very interesting. It’s in a pseudo-documentary form, which I wasn’t expecting.

Today was slept in (woo hoo!) and then walked around Granville Street for awhile. Mom bought a poncho (she’d been looking for one the whole time she was here), and then we headed for the airport, where she bought a bag – which she was also looking for most of the time she was here. And of course I cried when she left. I’ve become an emotional baby ever since I moved out here – but that’s okay.

Tonight I’m trying to get my life organized again – with little success. 😉 I’m also trying to pick new music to learn. Back to the grind…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

