Whoa…

This weekend has come and gone. I can’t believe how fast time flies. It’s already the 8th of May. Wow.

The last few days haven’t been full of anything too terribly exciting. I worked, sang, taught, and sang some more. So, here goes another progressive digression…

This week’s crossword puzzles sucked. They were so ridiculously hard. I got Monday’s and Tuesday’s after a lot of work, but I’ve given up on Wednesday’s through Friday’s. It’s not worth it.

What is with the men’s world hockey team? Come on, you guys. Seriously. Get with the game. We’re going to get knocked out in the quarter-finals if this keeps up.

The election here is a little more than a week away. It’s interesting to see an election that doesn’t revolve around farm issues, but the rural/urban split exists here, too. I’m still an undecided voter. My NDP heritage wants me to vote NDP, but BC NDP and SK NDP are two very different things. SK NDP is much more fiscally conservative, but still socially minded. BC NDP is frivolous and basically as corrupt as the current Liberal regime, or the ’80s SK Conservatives. The Liberal party here is about as useful as, well – I can’t come up with anything witty (sorry). They’re basically the “conservatives” in BC. The Greens have no chance of winning a seat. So, maybe I should vote for one of the fringe parties. The Sex Party? They want to change Victoria Day to Eros Day. The Work Less Party wants a 32 hour work week. How about the Annexation Party? Western alienation at it’s finest – we’d become the 51st state. Or the Democratic BC Party OR the Democratic Reform BC Party, or the Communist Party of BC. There’s also the Marijuana Party. And there are 45 parties in all. Oh, I forgot – the Platinum Party – the People of BC Millionaires Party. Nice, huh?

Go see “Kingdom of Heaven”. Girls – Orlando Bloom has never looked better. I was not a fan, but am now. Muscle is good. Boys – lots of fights and gore. It’s a Ridley Scott movie. You’re probably going in your head right now – Nicole went to watch a Ridley Scott movie? Yes, yes, I did. It wasn’t my first choice, but the movie is SOOOOO good. And yes, I hid my eyes for probably a good 30-40 minutes out of the 2 hours and 15 minutes, but I didn’t think that was too bad. It’s about the Crusades in the 1100s. You know, how the Muslims and Christians fought over the “Kingdom of Heaven” – Jerusalem. It actually made me think. Surprising? Yes. Liam Neeson is in it – and I love him. Yeah for Jeremy Irons, too. I have two pans though: 1. Orlando was only without his shirt once. What’s with that? The love scene – so cheesy. 2. Orlando needs to work on his “rally the masses” speeches. They were, well, they were well-written, but poorly delivered. But the man is now leading man material. Brad Pitt leading man material. Sigh…

And on that note, I’m going to go watch Angela Gheorgiu live in concert. On DVD. Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

