Sorry all…

I have tried to write this post what feels like a million times the past week. But everytime I tried to put coherent sentences together, my brain turned to mush, my fingers froze, and my inner voice just said, “Oh, screw it.” And so I did. Not that this attempt is going to be any different, but, I’m determined to actually publish something this time…

Things are so ridiculously hectic right now. I haven’t had time for a freaking haircut, and now I have to squeeze one in right between a show run and work. Grrr… I know I was complaining about how bored I was awhile ago, but this is insane. No one should go more than 2 weeks without a day off. No one. Ever. I’m just completely burnt out, so God bless our director who cancelled tomorrow afternoon’s rehearsal to give us all a break. Thank the Lord! Seriously. I know I was busy in school, but holding down two actual jobs with actual responsibilities and juggling an opera and furthering your musical education is so hard. I never really worked in university like I do now. Excuse the pity party. That’s not what I meant to happen…

I can’t wait to get out of here! The mountains are really starting to tick me off. I just want to blow them all up so I can SEE. I feel very closed in, and my crazy schedule probably isn’t helping, but I just need to get back to some open space. And to a farm with no asphalt. And silence. Except for the sounds of wind blowing through grass, thunder out in the distance and my puppy barking. Yes, I’m getting sentimental. It happens when I’m tired.

Our show is my saving grace right now. It’s so much fun. And except for the fact that some of the cast is pulling diva tantrums now and then and that some people still don’t know their stuff, I’m loving my character and having a great time in the show. It was definitely worth staying this long. But I think every show you do has valuable experience, even if it results in a list of things you resolve never to do again.

Teaching and work are annoying right now. My client is ticking me off on a daily basis, and my students are not helping matters much. I now understand my music teachers’ frustration when I didn’t practice much. Just one more week. Just one more week…

My crankiness and irritability over the past week or so has resulted in a lot of retail therapy. Not that it isn’t justified. I hadn’t bought anything for myself since Christmas, so, this latest “spree” is not without merit.

I listened to my recital CD for the first time the other week. I’d put it off for a good month and a half because I just wasn’t happy with how it went. But, you know, it didn’t sound too bad. And it’s leaps and bounds better than last year’s recital, and I was ECSTATIC with that one. It just goes to show how one’s standards and perceptions can change so drastically in a new environment…

My country music fascination has not waned either. It’s all I listen to. I’m convinced it’s better than pop music. First of all, most of them can actually sing (minus Shania Twain’s country/pop crossover junk – I don’t really like her – can you tell?), and there’s not much electronic stuff that goes on. Plus, it’s just so much more real. It’s about relationships. Real life. When’s the last time you walked in the Bronx in NYC with a fur coat and serious bling like J.Lo does in her videos? Is that real? Not so much. Not that there isn’t crap in country music. There’s crap everywhere. In everything. Yikes, that’s seriously pessimistic (spelling?)…

Okay, before this gets any weirder (me and stream of consciousness do not go well together), or I delete all of this, I’m going to publish. Hopefully I will have something better for you next time. Sorry for the pity party and whining…

1 comment
  1. Sarah said:

    Finally! Someone else who realizes that anyone can sound good if your voice is electronically altered! (I dislike Shania Twain, too…) Your recital CD that I have is AWESOME…definitely not fake OR electronically altered! Love you lots!Sarah

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

