Here and gone…

That’s how I always feel about Thanksgiving. It’s here. It’s gone. I’m no longer as thankful as should be, not that I ever think anyone is ever near being thankful enough, especially yours truly. It was nice to go over to Cousin Laurie and Harold’s and have dinner there, particularly since their 3 1/2 year old son, Rowan, kept insisting I kiss him throughout the evening. I’d kiss him on the forehead, and then he’d yell, “Oh, gross!”, or, my personal favorite, “Next time, have some lipstick or lip gloss on.” And then a few minutes later, he’d be begging me to do it again. So, I finally asked him why I should kiss him. His answers:

1. I love you.
2. I want to go on a rocket ship with you.
3. I want to go on a boat with you.

After some help from his Mom, he told me I was beautiful. I don’t know the last time I’ve heard that from somebody. Let alone a male. Harold kept thanking me for putting up Rowan, and I just replied, “Hey, it’s the most male affection I’ve had. It’s no big deal.” He laughed. I laughed. It was pathetic. Oh, well.

Today was spent finally being able to put some songs on my I-Pod. Actually, my RCA Lyra, but who really cares? It dislikes some of my CDs, but, oh well. That’s par for the course with me. And then we had more family over for supper, watched the Yankees get beat (woo hoo!) and played Trivial Pursuit. Did you know Japan was the first place where you could watch high definition TV? I didn’t. But I guessed. And I was correct. 🙂

And so ends another Thanksgiving. Am I thankful? Yes. Thankful that I’ve finally come to peace with my being in Vancouver. That my Dad finally has a full-time job again after 3 years of being in and out of work. That my family is still intact and loves me more than anything. That I’ve finally decided to go back to university and get my education degree. That I’ve finally realized that I need to go another direction in my life and am doing something about it. That I finally feel like me again; most of the time. Ah, how sweet life is – when you choose to look at the good…

Here’s a joke from Jolee that made my laugh out loud:

Thought for the Day: I understand that scissors can beat paper, and I get how rock can beat scissors, but there’s no freaking way paper can beat rock. Paper is supposed to magically “wrap around” rock, rendering it immobile? Why the heck can’t paper do this to scissors? Screw scissors, why can’t paper do this to people? Why aren’t sheets of notebook paper constantly suffocating students as they attempt to take notes in class? I’ll tell You why – BECAUSE PAPER CAN’T BEAT ANYBODY! A rock would tear it up in 2 seconds. When I play rock/paper/scissors, I always choose rock. Then when somebody claims to have beaten me with their paper, I punch them in the face with my already clenched fist and say, “Oh crap, I’m sorry. I thought that paper would protect you.”

Too funny…

1 comment
  1. I think you’re beautiful! Nicole, it is so much fun to come and read your rants and see your thoughts. I’m glad God made you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

