Boys are…

Hard to teach. You have 14 year old boys who won’t talk. Then there are 11 year old boys who are much more self-assured than you ever thought possible. There are the 6 year olds who can’t sit still. And then there are the 4 year olds who think every phrase must end with the phrase, “Blast off!” Not that I’m complaining. But it’s just that they’re so very different. And I love them for it. They add an extra bit of intrigue and mystery to my day, wondering what they’re going to be up to next.

As for my other work, well, that’s not going so smoothly. I have been slapped twice in the past two meeting with my client. A 1:1 ratio of slaps to times met is not exactly encouraging. Something’s going to have to be done about that…

Other than that, things are trekking along. It’s hard to believe that it’s nearly the end of October already. I honestly feel as if I’ve accomplished nothing this month. I don’t know why. I’ve actually done a lot. I’ve got a lot more students than last year, new clients, I’m actually practicing these days (not sure what’s up with that…), still have rehearsals and some school. I guess I have accomplished a few things. I even went to the gym yesterday. 🙂 I hate how gyms seem to be full of people who seem to spend every waking hour there. But that subjects is for another day…

Singing is going decently lately. My confidence is finally starting to return. It’s funny, but I’m always tentative at the start of the year. It’s not like my voice went anywhere during the summer. It’s still there. It’s always there. I just have to let it out. I sang in masterclass and that was the most sound I’ve ever produced. It was a little loud at times, and probably a little more shrill than it should be, but I’m slowly starting to let it come out. Apparently the sound I produce now is only a fraction of the sound I have. Yeah. More frustrating, banging-your-head-against-the-wall work because it’s so freaking abstract because you can’t see what you’re doing. Excellent. I actually sang out of turn in masterclass yesterday. Not completely out of turn, but there was time left at the end of class for one more person, and since I was next on the list, I decided to go. I sang the same aria as the first person in class had done, and I must say, my competitive streak got the better of me and I wanted to better her. And I did. Not very nice, I know, but it was a little fire that got me going. Sometimes I just need someone to come and along and give me a run for my money. It’s my fighting spirit. What can I say?

All right. I’d better head to bed soon. Tomorrow’s another long day. I won’t get home from teaching until 8:30 tomorrow evening. And then it’s the weekend, and then I get to sing in worship band at church on Saturday (and maybe even lead – eek!) and on Sunday – the Burris Bowl. I can’t wait…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

