So much to say…

There is so much to blog today. So, let’s get right to it…

I have a new life skills client! Yeah! Her name is Brenda, and she’s just lovely. She lives independently in her own apartment, which is a bit of change of pace for me, since me last couple of clients still lived at home with their parents. She and I are going to get along quite well. I do not forsee any slapping incidents in the future!

We blocked the rest of my opera scene for school. There will be kissing. Uh oh. But since I’ve been telling myself for the last couple of weeks that this was a likely scenario, and have lived under that guise, I’m not as irked or irritated or – what’s the actual word I want to use?? – bothered (?!?!) by it. Oh – and get this: at the end of the scene Faust and Marguerite (me) are supposed to make love because in the next act, she’s pregnant – and it’s not an immaculate conception. 😉 So, at the end of our scene, we have to figure out a way for him to make it look as if he’s laying me down on a bed as if we’re about to have sex. My Mom’s coming to see this. Lucky her. And lucky me – kissing a guy in front of my own mother, and then having her watch him make suggestive advances towards me. Now isn’t that every girl’s dream??

Last night we finally celebrated my birthday. We started at our house with supper, and then moved to the Paramount on Burrard to see “Prime”. Don’t go see it. Waste of time. I’m not sure why, but I’m extremely critical of movies lately. I don’t know why. If this movie would have cut out Meryl Streep-bit, it could have been a really great movie focusing on two people who love each other, but realize that it’s not fair to each other to give each other what each needs (did you follow that?). The comedic scenes are ill-timed and inappropriate. Anyways…

Then we went karaokeeing. I was in my element. We went to this little Korean karaokee bar on the corner of Thurlow and Alberni downtown (under a Sportsmart?!?!) and got a private room. You read correctly. Karaokee in private rooms. We sat on couches and sang for two hours. In front of ourselves. I basically sang for 2 hours straight. Now, this is the way to karaokee if you have timid and shy friends. They will sing. And you don’t feel as if you’re being mean by having them sing in front of others. I would have preferred a bar with dancing and singing in front of strangers, but that’s me and I’ve been on stage for quite a few years now. For others – the experience isn’t as exhilarating. I had to do versions of “My Heart Will Go On” and “I Will Always Love You” solo. And sadly, I knew every nuance of every song. I have listened to “The Bodyguard” soundtrack since I was 10. And I’ve memorized every little slight of voice over the years. If I ever had to perform a song, it would be “I Have Nothing” by Whitney Houston from “The Bodyguard” soundtrack. It’s just such a great song. Vocally, it’s stunning. It gives me goosebumps. Anyways, we had fun. I sang Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, “Summer Nights” from the “Grease” soundtrack, “I Will Survive”, and the list goes on and on. We’re going back. I told the girls that already. “Oh give me a karaokee bar…”

And today I watched “Thelma and Louise” after Orest, Heather and I had Sunday Night Supper. It’s our new tradition to bring in the new week on a nice note. It feels like family with the three of us. Orest is Dad. Heather is Mom. And I’m the smart-aleck teenager. It’s true. I’d never watched “Thelma and Louise” before. I was looking forward to a great Brad Pitt moment, but he really doesn’t look that good in this movie. And that’s coming from me….

Well, I should head to bed. It feels like 12:30, but it’s only 11:30. You’ve got to love Daylight Savings Time. The sun set at 5:30 today. Lovely. You know, I always said Saskatchewan would accept gay marriage before Daylight Savings Time. And I was right…

Speaking of Saskatchewan, yeah the Riders are in the playoffs. Boo that Trevis Smith is apparently a criminal. It will be another long off-season in Riderville. I think the Montreal-SK playoff game will be interesting – especially since it’ll be in a dome – but I can’t see us getting past them. It’ll take a miracle. A 1980, Lake Placid Miracle on Ice type of miracle. And the Leafs – 8-0 loss ot the Sens last night? What was that about? Oh yeah. A lack of any ability to play DEFENSE! We could get away with it in the new NHL – but not now. When will be fork out money for a decent blueliner?

Okay. Now I’ve really got to get to bed. With visions of karaokee microphones dancing in my head…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

