Watching the world go by…

So, I’m sitting here, watching the Oilers and Blackhawks pretend to be good hockey teams, all the while ticked off that I can’t go and watch “Walk the Line” because it isn’t playing at the theatre that’s within walking distance and the late shows downtown only start at 10:00, and I realize that I haven’t done anything fun all week. Or eaten a decent meal. Which reminds me that I haven’t eaten anything since 11:00 this morning…

For the past week I’ve left home early (like 7:45) , and come back late (as in 8:00-9:00). Such is winter. During the summer it doesn’t matter as much because there’s so much more light. But it’s getting close to winter now, and sunlight is an issue. Bring back summer!

Today I went and watched my little kidlets in their recital. They were so cute, and they all did fabulously. Getting there was a pain in the you know what – 2 1/2 freaking hours. Goodness – that’s driving from Saskatoon to Regina. But such is life when you commute in a big metropolis. The recital was out in Port Coquitlam, which we have all deemed is much too far from the academy we teach out of. I’ll have to talk to Salina about that. Tomorrow is the teacher’s recital, and yours truly is singing a little something called “The Cat Duet”. It’s ridiculous and my students will never look at me in the same way ever again (but they do think I’m weird and silly already – what more do I have to lose?). I can’t wait until this weekend is done. Then my little students can return to their normal lives.

The cutest thing happened when I was teaching yesterday. Brent, my wild 5 year old, was his usual “can’t sit still” self, and was really frustrating me. I was tired, I had a student who didn’t show up (which really ticks me off), I kept thinking about my weekend that isn’t a weekend, and was generally irritated. Then he told me that he wanted to play one of his old songs. I asked him which ones. He then said, “The one called ‘For My Teacher”. I want to play it for you.” Well, my heart melted. And all was forgiven. I then said to him, “You like me, don’t you?” I was teasing him, of course, because boys just don’t like girls at that age, and was expecting him to say no. His response was, “Sometimes.” Good enough for me…

And one Rider note before I go and eat something. It dawned on me the other day while I was watching “Off the Record”, with Mike Morreale of the Hamilton Tiger Cats (a receiver, nonetheless), that our Riders might have had more post-season success had they traded for Milt Stegall or Mike Morreale, or some receiver of value. Why they didn’t is beyond me. But that’s bridge under the water now. To the kitchen…

1 comment
  1. That’s so cute! Sometimes little kids are really nice to be around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

