So tired…

Today was gruelling. But I have no idea why. It was just a normal Monday. Minus a scheduling snaffu this evening that led me to be at school at 7:00 – 2 hours early. But I was able to get a few things done, so I guess it wasn’t a total waste.

On the way back from Port Coquitlam today, the bus was crossing Main Street and Hastings Street. This is the hub of the notorious section in Vancouver known as the Downtown Eastside. The light turned green and the driver went through the intersection. As soon as he crossed, a man walked on to the street, right into the path of the oncoming bus. We were all jolted forward quite suddenly. The man proceeded to give the finger to the bus driver, who was a little shooken up, as he didn’t drive for a minute. But, the man didn’t move, either. Finally he moved – not on to the sidewalk, but just to the side of the road. And as the bus drove by he slammed his hand on the window right where I was sitting. I was a little insulted. It’s not like I almost ran over him. And it’s not as if I was dumb enough to walk on to the middle of a busy street at rush hour! But the comments from some of the people on the bus such as, “Good thing the bus driver stopped; otherwise, he would have hurt the bus,” or, “He should have hit him. He’d have done a great service to the community,” were just plain rude, ignorant and inhumane. Sure, the man obviously had problems that were visible, but what us and our invisible problems? Often times the problems that come from within are more scarring than the ones that bombard us from the outside.

Other than that bit of excitement, today was today. My elbow is a bit scraped and I’m going to have a huge bruise on my hip from falling while running to the SkyTrain yesterday. Don’t run in heels. I slipped, and slid, like a baseball player sliding into home plate. It was kind of a cool fall, because I was able to get up without missing a beat. I almost couldn’t believe it happened. My arm was a bit sore for awhile because it took the brunt of my fall, but it’s fine. Wouldn’t that have been something – a 4th broken arm? Just what I need!

Time for bed. I didn’t go for my walk this morning, so I promised myself I would go tomorrow morning. Good luck with that…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

