Addendum…

Paul Martin had to step down. He had to. He knew he did. He was an ill-fated leader. I think, given a real mandate, he would have been a great Prime Minister. He did great things for our country, even under Jean Chretien. He has been a great public servant, and his friend Bono will miss him very much.

The Liberals are not in a bad spot. With 103 seats, they’ve got a lot of leverage. They’re down, but not by much. It’ll be interesting to see who emerges as the next leader. My vote is for Ralph Goodale. Now wouldn’t that be interesting: the only MP from Saskatchewan that’s not Conservative, and he becomes Prime Minister. Oh, I hope that happens…

Note to Mr. Harper: Are you incapable of smiling? Not one smile during his acceptance speech. You just got elected Prime Minister? What more do you want (answer: a majority so you could actually run the country the way you want – but you can’t – ha!)?

And on that note, I’m going to bed. My election coverage has officially gone loopy. But one more comment.

Dig of the night goes to: John Manley. When responding to the number of seats the Liberals lost, he said, “Well, it’s not as if we only have 2 seats,” referring to the 1993 election where the Conservatives were completely obliterated (poor Kim Campbell. Seeing her on TV tonight reminded me of how she was completely railroaded and hung out to dry for the Conservatives. They should never get elected again just based on that alone). See Mr. Harper? You’re not a giant killer. Your Goliath may be wounded, but you haven’t yet found his Achilles heel…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

