And the nominees are…

So here are my comments/concerns/praises for the Oscar nominations released today.

Best Actor: I have no issues here. A good bunch. Russell Crowe could have easily been in this group. The race is between Hoffman and Ledger, though with the Golden Globe win, Hoffman has the upper hand. Too bad for Joaquin Phoenix. He was brilliant. At least he got his Golden Globe. But, you never know…

Best Actress: Keira Knightley? Judi Dench? As much as I don’t really like Gwyneth Paltrow, she should have been in here for “Proof”. And Laura Linney or Maria Bello. I liked “Pride and Prejudice”, but I certainly didn’t think it was Oscar-worthy. The race is dead even between Felicity Huffman and Reese Witherspoon. Huffman got the Golden Globe, Witherspoon the Screen Actors, so it’s a toss-up. But, the Academy likes people who undergo dramatic transformations for a role (a la Charlize Theron in “Monster”), so Huffman has a bit of an edge. Plus, I think it’d be hilarious to have a “Desperate Housewife” with an Oscar. Do you really think Eva Longoria’s that great of an actress? Come on… Huffman is by far the best of them – by FAR…

Supporting Actor: Great list. All totally deserving. Who’d have thought George Clooney would have got best directing and supporting actor nods in the same year for the same films?

Supporting Actress: I haven’t seen “Match Point”, so I don’t know if Scarlett Johansson was robbed, but don’t worry, her boobs will still make an appearance on Oscar night. Another great list. All deserving. I would go between Weisz and Williams.

Best Director: Hello? Where’s “Walk the Line”? You’ve got two best actor nominations and the director gets nothing? What, they did it all by themselves? Come on… Good to see “Crash”. Ang Lee will get it for “Brokeback Mountain”. Because he might not get Best Picture…

Best Picture: Again, where is “Walk the Line”? It’s got to be better than “Munich”. My list would have been: “Brokeback Mountain”, “Walk the Line”, “The Constant Gardener” (it was excellent…), “Crash”, “Capote”. I think it’s between “Brokeback” and “Capote”. But, who knows…

I’ve seen most of these movies, which is good. I have a few more to watch, and then I can make my predictions. But all I’ll say is: go Felicity Huffman!

Next…

Did you know Americans are “addicted to oil”? Really? I would never have guessed. That was the most hilarious statement every uttered at a State of the Union. It has to be. A former oil tycoon reprimands his country for being addicted to oil, and then, as any oil tycoon would do, offers no solutions, except saying, we’re going to have to stabilize the foreign producers we get out oil from. How many years until Bush is out of office?

The CFL schedule for 2006 is out. My Riders only play in BC once this year. That’s too bad. But, all of the CFL’s game are being broadcast this year. ALL OF THEM. For the past couple of years there’ve been 10 or so not broadcast – and a guaranteed 4 of them would be Rider games. Seriously.

My Leafs won a hockey game in January. Woo hoo! Stanley Cup, here we come! All that money, and what a crappy team. Too much money, too little brains…

And on that note, it’s off to bed. We had our 2nd dress rehearsal tonight, and it was much better than the last one. Yeah! I should have been in bed sooner, but I was given a chocolate mousse cake (long story behind that), and I ate a good chunk of it – with help of course! – but it’s given me a bit of a sugar high. And that mixed the adrenaline of performing = non-stop talking. Poor Heather. I talked her ear off when I got home. Oh, well.

Hey, tomorrow’s February! And maybe it will stop raining – ha!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

