Same old stuff…

By my calcuations you can break down the Cabinet as follows:

MPs from:
BC – 4
AB – 3
SK – 1
MB – 1
ON – 9 (including Senator Marjory LeBreton)
QB – 5 (including the unelected Michael Fortier)
NB – 1
NS – 1
NL – 1
If I was an Albertan, I’d be a little ticked off. Particularly if I was an Albertan MP that had been in the party throughout all of the Reform-Alliance-Conservative years, patiently waiting for the time to govern, and then getting a “Thanks for all your work. Go and warm the back benches.”
Yeah, I’d be ticked off, too. It’s obvious that Harper is still courting Ontario voters by the amount of Cabinet MPs they have. Ditto for Quebec.
I’d also be ticked off if I was an MP who didn’t get a cabinet post because my leader decided to pick off someone from the other team, á la Belinda Stronach. I thought Harper might be smarter that that. But to blatantly court another MP from the opposing party and announce it on the day you become Prime Minister? I can’t figure out how he thought he was going to get “good spin” or “positive press” out of that. He was the one screaming for accountability in Parliament, and he verbally flogged Stronach for her defection. What’s different here?
But Mr. Harper has even more nerve. He puts a man in Cabinet that – get this – ISN’T EVEN ELECTED! Michael Fortier is running Public Works. It’s not like he’s the Minister of Heritage. He’s going to be in charge of a large chunk of Canadian cash, and he should be in Parliament to answer to the other MPs and the Canadian public. Once again – what were you thinking Mr. Harper? But then, appointing him as a Senator until the next election – that was even better. Because you have now come full circle as a hypocrite. But not just a hypocrite. An ARROGANT hypocrite. I remember watching a news conference where you pointed out (using a chart and a pointing stick…) how you were going to use the three E system: effective, equal and elected. And here you’ve just APPOINTED your first senator. Way to go. Congrautlations. You’re officially no better than another other government in the history of Canadian politics. And you might be the worst, because you managed to break the public’s trust, your promises, and hurt a lot of your caucus – all on your first day in office! That’s quite a feat!
Oh, but enough about the Liberals – I mean, Conservatives. Let’s get to the real story of this blog: the woman sitting beside me on the bus this morning.
It’s a typical morning. Well, atypical in that it isn’t raining. Second day in a row – that’s got to be a record – well, at least, for this year so far. I get to the bus. I get on. I sit down near the back. Normal? Yes. I notice the woman is carrying a stick in her hands. Not just a stick, but a curved stick. It looks like a boomerang, except for end is shorter than the other. Anyways, the end of one side is flat; it looks as if it has been sanded. She keeps playing with the stick. I don’t care. As long as she doesn’t hit me. But then she does what I’m not expecting: she starts hitting herself. Not hard, but deliberately hitting herself. Her arms, her chest, everywhere. I don’t know if it was some stress-relieving exercise or what, but it was weird and I wasn’t the only one of the bus who noticed. So that is my “weird occurence on the bus” for today. At least the buses aren’t almost hitting people anymore like they were everyday for awhile there. Hastings and Main = people who don’t really care if the walk light is on or not.
I’ve really got to apologize to you all out there. I’ve been writing almost everyday lately. And not just snippets, but long drawnout blogs. If you’ve been reading – thanks. And if not, I don’t blame you!
Today’s music quote comes from Alicia Keys’ “If I Ain’t Got You”. It is my gift to our new government…
Some people live for the fortune (Michael Fortier)
Some people live just for the fame (Stockwell Day)
Some people live for the power, yeah (Jim Flaherty)
Some people live just to play the game (David Emerson)
Some people think that the physical things
Define what’s within (Peter Mackay)
And I’ve been there before
But that life’s a bore
So full of the superficial (Diane Ablonczy)
Some people want it all (A line especially for our new PM, Stephen Harper)
But I don’t want nothing at all
If it ain’t you baby
If I ain’t got you baby
Some people want diamond rings (Rona Ambrose)
Some just want everything (Again, our illustrious PM)
But everything means nothing
If I ain’t got you, Yeah
And that’s more than enough from me…
1 comment
  1. Maybe she was hitting herself to improve her circulation. A lot of the older people over here do stuff like that; you pass them in parks and on the side of the road doing stretches and hitting themselves and stuff. It’s really quite interesting to watch. Anyway, have a beautiful day! Love, Ariann <><

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

