Awestruck…

I love those moments in life where you look up and all at once you feel amazement, shock, awe and are overwhelmed by the world you see before you.

Yesterday was one of the most spectacular days I have witnessed out here. I was driving from SFU back to Coquitlam. SFU is on top of Burnaby Mountain, and the views are panoramic. You can see the entire Lower Mainland and it’s stunning. But what really amazed me yesterday was when I just turned out of the university and saw Mount Baker. It’s the largest mountain around here, and it’s in Washington. I’m not sure how many feet it is, but all of the other mountains here pale in comparison to it. But I’d never seen it as clearly as yesterday. The road from SFU goes straight towards it, and it looked larger than I thought. I felt so small and insignificant in that moment. I haven’t been that moved by nature in a long time. I felt as if God was saying, “I’m here. I’ve been here forever. I always will be. Trust that.”

Mom, Jeff and Jessica arrived yesterday. I spent all afternoon with my eyes nailed to the clock in my teaching studio, waiting for the minutes to tick down so I could go home. But I had a great teaching day besides that.

After I arrived home, I took my family on a little tour of the city. We drove across the Lion’s Gate Bridge to North Vancouver, toured around downtown, drove to my school and then stood outside in Vanier Park, where once again we were struck by the view. I rarely see stars at night in the city, but last night was crystal clear. You could actually see the outlines of the mountains in the distance. Normally you can’t see anything but the lights of house on the mountainside. It was amazing. Breathtaking. BUt enough nature sapiness…

The Olympics.

I predict that we will win 22 medals. The COC says we’ll win 25, we won 17 last time. I’m going with 22. It seems like a nice number.

As for the whole NHL gambling controversy: I don’t care. If it doesn’t affect the product or outcome on the ice. I don’t care. Leave Wayne Gretzky alone, let the focus be on the Olympic games. Blah, blah, blah, blah. This is just setting the tone for another “the world is against us speech” by Gretzky. And the timing of these allegations is a little suspect. I’m not going to go around yelling, “Conspiracy!” at the top of my lungs, but there have been a lot of “leaks” from the New Jersey State Police. By the way, remember that one of the alleged is actually a cop? Shouldn’t we focus on that? But Gretzky is a magnet for media attention. He is the King of Canadian Hockey, and as we are going into Torino to defend our Olympic gold medal, have had to replace a chunk of our blueline, and with others calling into question the sanity of those who picked our Olympic team, the media attention is going to be harsh and unrelenting. Gretzky knows that. Everybody knows that. And he will shoulder the burden. He will do it for Canada. Because everything he does, he does for Canada. Let’s try and remember that…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

