Wasted time…

I feel like the past month has been a waste of time. Why? Lots of reasons. None I’m going to get into here. But just know that’s how I feel.

I apologize for not posting the last couple of weeks. On second thought, I don’t apologize. I didn’t feel like it, so I didn’t.

To the person who commented on my last blog, who basically said that they thought I wasn’t as smart as they thought: who are you? If you’re going to make a comment like that, at least leave your name. And for your information, I don’t agree with commercial exploitation of seals. I just think that there are way bigger issues that need more exposure. Like AIDS in Africa and all the pharmaceutical companies that won’t lower their drug prices at the cost of millions of lives. There are ongoing issues of hunger, poverty, child abuse, cancer, terrorism. Seal pups just don’t register that high on my radar. I really don’t care what you think of me. I’ve been pandering to people for too long.

If you sense an air of hostility and defensiveness right now, you’re not that far off. It’s frustration I guess. Feeling like I’m banging my head against a wall, trying to break through when there’s a door five feet down the hall that I refuse to go through because my way is better. Or I think it’s better. I am creeping closer towards the door, slowly but surely.

This is turning into one of the weirder blogs I’ve written. Once again, I do not apologize.

So, to get back to the “usual Nicole” stuff. Here’s a list of random thoughts:

1. The Riders might actually get a QB. If Ottawa folds, as many are suspecting may happen, he becomes free. Wouldn’t that be a weird turn of events? Unfortunately the Riders are just not that lucky.

2. God, please let the Canucks miss the playoffs. My Leafs are going to, and it would only be right if all the people around me (okay, none of the people around me – because they could care less about hockey, but they ones I pass everyday on the street) are miserable as well.

3. CBC’s miniseries on Tommy Douglas has reignited my political passions. The miniseries was much too warm and fuzzy. Come on, Tommy Douglas must have had a dark side. He was a politician for crying out loud.
I did miss half an hour of Part II because all of central Vancouver went dark (and this after I had a voice lesson in the dark last week…), so I might have missed something that would make me retract my statement. But I doubt it. I did go out and buy a Tommy Douglas biography, though. I must have been the only 23 year girl out on a Monday night at Chapters, looking at books of Tommy Douglas.

That’s all I feel like commenting on. That’s all I want to comment on. Though I will say that having non-stop curling for the past couple of weeks has been great. And now that it’s not dark at 6:00, it feels like spring might actually be coming…

3 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    Hey, Nicole! Long time no talk…I hope things are going well…I just read the lecturing comment on your other post, and I agree that whoever it was should at least have the courtesy to leave their name if they are going to offend your intelligence. There are many horrible things going on in the world right now, and I think that people forget that there are problems they can help with at home. I realize that there are huge problems in other countries that must be dealt with, but instead of picketing and protesting, why don’t people make a difference at home? How many of these people give food to their local food bank? Volunteer at their local soup kitchen? Give old clothes to their local half-way house for abused women and children? Recycle? Some of them will, but not all of them. It is the latter that annoy me. There are so many productive things we can do here at home…don’t forget about the people here because there is a “bigger picture”…take care Nicole…and I’m not sure if I ever told you, but that writing you sent me was pretty fantastic! Love you lots,Sarah

  2. Anonymous said:

    No kidding…. Crazy anonymous person just wanted someone to rant at about the seals, and they chose you.I personally think you are an incredibly passionate person who is very involved in the world and polotics, and just because you are an Olympics fan, that doesn’t give anyone the right to say anything otherwise.Cheers to you, Nicole!!!~Jolee

  3. Anonymous said:

    And of course, by “polotics”, I mean “politics”….If anyone should be ranted at for not caring about politics, it’s me… 😛~Jolee

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

