I’m back…

To all of those who think I’m a bad person because I’m not out on an ice flow defending the rights of baby seals, please read this: http://www.cbc.ca/story/canada/national/2006/03/17/senator-seal060317.html
I’m not the only one…

Today’s topic is music. Well, it’ll probably morph into a lot of things, but music is what I’m starting with.

I LOVE the Dixie Chicks’ new song. A little over-orchestrated, but it’s a great rant in response to all those red state-people that took them to the cleaners after lead singer Natalie Maines’ not-so-nice comments about President Bush. I can’t wait for their new CD. Their last one was much more acoustic and sparse, and obviously they’re going in a different direction with this one. It’ll be interesting to see the public’s response.

I love Amanda Wilkinson. I-Tunes finally put her first solo CD up, and I finally was able to download it. Some of the songs are pretty weak, but her voice is great, as always. It has this old school sound and a unique depth.

I went on a little “shopping spree” on I-Tunes, and got a whole bunch of stuff. I am amazed by Miranda Lambert. She’s a year younger than me, but her songwriting is so mature. I wish I could write songs like her…

With the sun out again, I’ve been listening to the Backstreet Boys – stuff off of their last album. Say what you want, but their music is catchy, it’s singable, I love it.

I’ve been reading about Tommy Douglas the past week. I watched “Prairie Giant: The Tommy Douglas Story” last week and have become politically motivated again. No, I’m not going to start my own party like I tried to in elementary school (the KDP – Kid’s Democratic Party; I was a big Roy Romanow fan). I think an excellent History/Political Science Honors thesis or Master’s degree comparing grassroots movements throughout Canadian history (i.e. the CCF, current Conservative Party), would be very interesting. Or comparing the CCF and the current Conservative Party; they’re similar in a lot of ways, but very different (duh). What frustrates me is that we didn’t learn about Tommy Douglas in school. The man changed Canada WITHOUT being Prime Minister, and yet I learned about Louis Riel in Grade 4. Not Tommy Douglas. And I grew up in SASKATCHEWAN! No wonder the rest of the country doesn’t get it. But having won The Greatest Canadian challenge last fall, and now the movie about his life, I think his notability will rise – a slight bit. Come on, who actually watches CBC?

I watched “North Country” last night. It stars Charlize Theron. Trumps Reese Witherspoon by a mile. Still haven’t seen “Transamerica”, so I’ll let you know who really deserved the Oscar. But the film was great. Some wonder cinematrography with the Minnesotan landscape, and great acting. I did feel like I was seeing Erin Brockovich again, but this gal was much less hostile. It was good. I didn’t cry. Apparently I was supposed to…

Um, yeah. That’s it. I’m going to publish a few post that I had started last week and never finished. Just for those of you diehard readers (aka Joel)…

2 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    I’m sure there are other hardcore readers out there besides me!-Joel

  2. Sarah said:

    What am I? Chopped liver? Hahaha…just kidding, Nicole.Sarah

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

