The garage…

I finally made it to GM Place the other night. I have lived here for 1 1/2 years, and my dream of going to a Canucks game came true. I went with Heather, which was great because she actually understands hockey, unlike football. GM Place is not as fancy on the inside as the ACC in Toronto, but it definitely holds second place in my “Rink Rankings”. They’re not official rankings, nor do they hold any merit because I’ve been to a whole 3 NHL rinks. Madison Square Garden comes a distant third. One word: dingy.

We were up in the rafters, because some of the crazies, but they were good crazies. I forgot that hockey is much more of an elitist sport compared to football. 60,000 people can go to a football game, whereas only 19,000 can go to a Canucks game. So, not everyone gets to go. I’m sure Darwin would have some theory about that.

I hate the Canucks. I didn’t realize how much until Monday. I mean, I cheered for the LOS ANGELES KINGS for the whole entire game. Initially Heather and I devised a plan where I would flip a coin to see which team I would cheer for in the first period. In the second I would cheer for the other team. And in the third I’d cheer for one side for 10 minutes, and 10 minutes for the other side. Of course I’d flip a coin to see which side I’d cheer for first. I hadn’t thought of what would happen when overtime came, much less a shootout. And I was praying for a shootout.

Anyways, when the second period came, I couldn’t cheer for the Canucks. I just couldn’t do it. It wasn’t as if there was some force holding me back, but it just wasn’t in me. My heart wasn’t in it. So, I was the only one sitting down when the Canucks scored their 7 goals. The Kings outshot them, but the Canucks had a few good rushes and fooled young Matthew Garon, the King goalie. If the Kings would have stayed out of the penalty box in the first period, the score might have been different. Other stories from the game: Alexandre Burrows became the new “It” Canuck with his hat trick. Naslun, Bertuzzi and Morrison are much more effective when broken up these days. Odd… The Sedin/Carter line is what’s keeping the Canucks together right now. If it weren’t for them, I don’t think the Canucks would make the playoffs.

I love hockey…

The Leafs are toast. History. I’m done with them. Same goes for the Riders. With the moves of Thurmon and Spencer to Calgary, the exodus from Riderville continues. Something is wrong. The players sense it and are running away. My hopes of landing Kerry Joseph once the Renegades fold (and if they don’t fold this league isn’t getting any smarter…) have dimmed because the Blue Bombers would get first choice in the dispersal draft. And with Kevin Glenn as their number one guy, they’re obviously looking for an upgrade as well. Damn.

Well, this was the sports update. Time for bed. I’ll post some pictures from the hockey game. Go…um, let’s see…go, Flames?!?!

1 comment
  1. Mel said:

    well, you’re lucky you made it to a game! i’ve been trying to get tickets, but with no luck! maybe instead of a reunion at another football game we should go to a hockey game!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

