BQ is back!

In Grade 12 Sarah Richert gave me the title of BQ – and it has nothing to do with the Bloc Quebecois – though I did write a paper on The Quiet Revolution of the 60s for Grade 12 history class. BQ stands for Bitter Queen. If you don’t believe me, then you obviously don’t know me that well. I am bitter about many things. Namely sports events. I live off of bitterness. It fuels me.

This leads me to Henry Burris. Yes, he’s haunting my thoughts again. My question to Smilin’ Hank is this: So, Henry, now that the Stamps have signed Danny McManus (and I think he has 2 Grey Cups – and I know – he didn’t start either of them), are you going to run? Are you going to cry foul? Are you going to question the security of your number one starting QB position? You ran away from Saskatchewan because of freaking NEALON GREENE. Are you scared of Danny Mac? You shouldn’t be. But, with you – one just never knows…

Speaking of the Riders…

We are screwed for this season. Unless Marcus Crandell or Nealon Greene become possessed by the spirit of Warren Moon, the season isn’t looking that bright. They say that Roy Shivers can find talent anywhere. Well, after this many seasons, where the hell’s our star quarterback? You can’t tell me that a guy who spent 8 years with the Stampeders and is known across the CONTINENT for his ability to scout talent can’t find one more freaking quarterback. Either Roy is losing his touch, or there is something happening in Riderville that is making people stay away. And don’t say it’s because it’s Regina. And don’t say it’s because there’s too much pressure from the fan base. Come on. We aren’t the Maple Leafs, people.

I definitely think part of it is the fact that Roy and Danny only have one more year left on their contracts. This season is “do or die” for them. But you have to remember that we’re talking about the Riders. How long was Al Ford GM for? 10 freaking years. Yes, he won a Grey Cup in his first year, but 1997 doesn’t count. I’m sure that God gave us the 1997 season to give us a glimmer of hope to get us through the drought-infested, Mad Cow years that were to follow. You’ve got to wonder. But getting back to my point…

Danny and Roy have put a good team together. The best team we’ve had in a long time (anybody remember the Marvin Graves year?). If they hadn’t been sucker-punched by “Traitor” Burris, we might have had our Grey Cup. Things do need to change this year, though. Once the season gets a little closer, I’ll make my wishlist for the Riders this year.

Now back to the current situation – that’s right. The Leafs.

I can’t believe the organization gave Pat Quinn, John Ferguson and Richard Peddie the green light. What the %$&@? This just reinforces how screwed up the Leafs really are. Besides the little “coming out” party for Bryan McCabe that died off as soon as the word “Olympics” was mentioned to him, this season has been dismal. How many times have we lost to Ottawa by more than 6 goals (Answer: 3. Hmm. Not as many times as I thought…)?

It astounds me how such a large, rich organization such as the Leafs cannot develop talent. They’re a patchwork team made up of an aging goalie with a bad back, a captain who only plays his “A” game when he has on a yellow sweater with three blue crowns (read: a Swedish national team jersey), a couple of young pups who bring excitement but not consistency, a blue line that even I could skate by with no problem, and a bunch of old veterans who’s career-ending wish is to play with their childhood dream team. The Leafs have to stop fulfilling every aging NHLers fantasy to play for the Leafs. Secondly, they need to stop trading away their draft picks. We probably don’t have a first round draft pick until 2010. Thirdly, they need to invest in some blueliners. That would fix half of the problem. Fort he past decade they have depended on their goalie to win the Stanley Cup for them. It just doesn’t work that way anymore. Especially in the new NHL. Your defence has to be fast and your forwards faster. And the Leafs are stuck in the early 90s. The days of Doug Gilmour and Wendell Clark are over, people!

I’d clean house. Start over. Pat Quinn needs to go. And I think he wants to. Ferguson is useless. Get rid of the aging guys and bring in the youngsters. And get Brent Sutter to coach. Hmm – I like it already…

So whom will I cheer for come playoff time? Calgary and Edmonton. But not the Canucks. Hell, no. We all know how I feel ab0ut them…

And here’s some trivia for you to end the night. Who has more goals? Steve Yzerman or Mario Lemieux? Trick question? Yes. The answer is Stevie Y. He passed Lemieux’s mark of 690 by scoring his 13th goal of the season against Chicago in a losing cause.

Good night!

1 comment
  1. Cherise Martens said:

    Hello Nicole, it’s your favourite cousin, Cherise. I love you to bits.. and this site is amazing! I will try to keep in touch with you. And congrats on your grad! I’m so sorry I couldn’t be there to give you one of my huge hugs. Anyways.. keep sending me e-mails.. and I will definetly send some back! -Cherise Martens

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

