"Dream, dream, dream dream…"

If I could have any job in the world, I would pick one of these:
1. Anchor on SportsCentre
2. Host of the Today show
3. Host of NHL Tonight on TSN
4. My own talk show
5. Host of “The Hour” on CBC

I think I see a pattern emerging here… The opportunity to be able to get up and just talk everyday about anything and everything – that would be amazing. So, let me talk some more…

The theme of today’s blog is sports. With the Oilers looking to send the Mighty Ducks out of the playoffs, today is a big day in the world of sports.

I have this fear that the Oilers are going to lose this series. It’s possible, and I’m not the only person who thinks it could happen. They’re tired. They’re sick. But they would never use those for excuses, which is why I’m holding out hope that they will get through this. Adrenaline is a powerful thing, and as long as they survive the first period tonight, I think they’ll be okay. But a repeat performance of Thursday’s night’s opening minutes will spell doom. D-O-O-M.

As for the other series? Carolina’s going back to the Finals. The Sabres’ blueliners are too beaten up, and Ryan Miller can’t do it all. Unless the Sabres’ forwards start averaging 5 goals a game, I just can’t see them getting past the ‘Canes.

RIDERS! I am so excited for June 16 I can hardly stand it. I still need to find the money and people to go with, but I will go. It is my destiny. Okay, that was an “American Idol” clip from last night’s Larry King Live. More about AI in a minute. Apparently the Riders will actually be employing their fullbacks this year. Really? That’s amazing. Rob Vanstone is right, though. Marcel Bellefeuille took a lot of heat for the Riders’ anemic (and that’s being euphemistic) offence last year, but look what the man had to work with. Corey Holmes was it. And Corey Holmes was brilliant. But he couldn’t play 7 positions at the same time (I’m not including the O-Line. Our guys are the best in the league). Tommy Condell will turn it around. He used the word “attack” when describing our new offense. I don’t think anyone has used the word “attack” in the same sentence with “Rider offence” since, well, I don’t know.

Bob Probert was on TSN’s “Off the Record” yesterday. And he was discussing the lack of a drug policy in the CFL. Does anyone else see the irony here?

“American Idol” – did Taylor Hicks actually win? All of the press I’ve seen has runner-up Katharine McPhee attached to him like a kid sister. He will be very hard to market. I can’t see him doing a whole lot. He will join the ranks of D-List former Idols along with Rubben Studdard and Fantasia Barrino. Now, I only watched the last half hour of Idol, but this season confirms that AI confirms that the show is becoming like the Ed Sullivan show. Big stars WANT to be on the show in order to promote themselves. You can’t buy the advertising and exposure that comes with being on AI. It’s crazy. Every week in the People magazine, the show has a whole page dedicated to it. It’s incredible how the phenomenon continues to grow. But it’s the classic example of the American Dream, right? Small-town kids from not always perfect family backgrounds get the chance of a lifetime. And the Canadian version gets underway on Monday…

In closing, I would like to tell NBC and CBS that I was not impressed with their late night entertainment last night. Dana Carvey and Bill Maher were on Leno and Letterman at the same time last night. That’s not fair! I had to keep flipping and I know I missed many jokes. But, I guess one can’t have it all.

GO OILERS!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

