That was weird…

I hate the BC Lions.

This is a proven fact. I can’t stand Dave Dickenson, Geroy Simon, Antonio Warren, Carl Kidd – the whole lot of them. But I saw them all today.

I was at BC Lions’ training camp. Let me set up the weekend for you. I went out to Aledergrove yesterday (well, technically I ended up in Abbotsford at first) to watch the Oilers game with a group of friends because the thought of having to watch yet another hockey game by myself was too much to bear. I stayed at my cousin Heidi’s house for night, and then this morning we went out for brunch. And then we went to watch the Lions.

We got there at noon, but nothing much was happening. We decided to return in an hour. So, we went to the mall, made Heidi try on all kind of combinations of clothing (I had a Stacey London “What Not To Wear” moment – and it was a little too much fun…), and then we headed back. And still, no Lions.

We then found out that they would be scrimmaging from 3-5 pm. So, we decided to sit and wait. And wait. And wait. 3:15 rolls around. They’re warming up. 3:30 comes. Still warming up. 3:45 – why are we still warming up? This is not the Grey Cup. I say “Let’s go.” We go. And as we drive out of the parking lot, I look over, and they’re finally playing. I hate the BC Lions all the more now.

Some other interesting things happened as well. I “stole” a football. All I wanted to do was play catch. So, I took a football from a pile of footballs – I assumed they were for public use. Apparently (my back was turned) I got a stunned look of horror and amazement from some high school football player. I guess he was guarding the balls. He told me I couldn’t have it. So, I returned it. I hate the BC Lions. You can’t even play with a football at a FOOTBALL TRAINING CAMP. I also received a 2005 BC Lions poster. I drove over it several times, but the thing is quite resistant to tire tracks. I should have run through a puddle first. Too bad.

So that was my afternoon at training camp. I saw people skipping, some IN Motion people trying to get the crowd to do aerobics, and some football players, but I did not see any football being played. Weird…

Yesterday I said that the Oilers might not win their series. I was wrong. Too bad. I realized yesterday that if the Oilers win the Stanley Cup, they will officially be the City of Champions again. The Eskimos are reigning Grey Cup champs – and if the Oilers win – oy… I don’t know if I can take that. Yet another reason to hate Alberta…

Ricky Williams signed with the Argos. I can’t tell you how much this irritates me. I don’t want our league turned into a rehab/parole facility. We does the NFL honor CFL suspensions, but the CFL doesn’t honor those of the NFL? I don’t get it. This is Rocket Ismail all over again – minus the unseemly salary. Why do the Argos always have to do this? Why, Pinball, why? This entire situation just confirms how little power the CFL has as a central governing body. The teams/owners run the show. Until the CFL has a strong central authority, stuff like this – and demises like the Renegades – will continue to occur. I don’t know how you solve the problem, but there’s got to be a way. Let me think about it…

Well, I think it’s time to go watch a movie. My special needs client already called me to say that she’s sick. I’ll probably still have to report to work, though. And I start my Monday night teaching schedule tomorrow, so this week is going to be busy. Not busy like the previous weeks, but still busy.

I hate the BC Lions…

1 comment
  1. Anonymous said:

    You ran over a BC Lions poster with a car??? Note to self: Don’t piss off Nicole then give her any pictures of me.-Joel

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

