Words sometimes aren’t enough…

Lately writing has become near impossible. It’s like something is stuck and I can’t get it out. Other times I just can’t translate my thoughts and feelings into coherent sentences. Sometimes there are so many things running through my head, I can’t decide where to start. And then there are times when I just give up because there’s so much to say and I can’t get it all out fast enough. It’s my all-or-nothing syndrome. Nothing is ever fast enough, good enough – well, you get the picture.

It’s 11:00 on Saturday morning and I am already sweating. I hate heat. Particularly heat with a lot of humidity. Good thing Heather’s gone this weekend. I can sleep on the couch right in front of her portable air conditioner. When she’s back it’s going to be a fight to sleep in that room. Oh well. I’ve already gone out and done the things I needed to so I can spend the rest of the day in quiet solitude with the air conditioner. I don’t have anymore romance novels to read (I’ve read 5500 pages of Nora Roberts romances in the past 6 weeks), but luckily my mind is always thinking of things to write and things to do.

I was happy to see BC beat Calgary in last night’s football game. Yes, I know. I hate BC. But I hate Calgary more. The only thing is that Henry Burris was taken out of the game. And next week they play us. Henry will be on a mission. Uh oh. I can feel an ass-kicking in the wind…

Today the Riders play the Argos. The Argos are hurting. Damon Allen, their starting QB is out, their receivers are battling various injuries, and their defence has been less than stellar. But they have Ricky Williams, the former NFL running back, who is due for a big game. Please, please, please, please, please do not let this be the game where he has one. But, that would be typical Rider fashion. But I am going to be positive and say that we’re going to build off of last week’s game (which I did not go to, but listened to from my computer – as if I’m going to listen to a game on Lions’ radio) and demolish them. And here’s something to think about: since Antonio Warren didn’t start yesterday and John Avery hasn’t played all year, should the Riders trade for either of them to push Kenton Keith to play better? I for one like Wally Buono’s attitude (and when does that ever happen) that you don’t play well, you get benched. The Riders need to do that with those players that aren’t producing.

What else? Since I’ve had a couple of weeks off from work, I’ve been watching Israel destroy Lebanon. It’s the latest in a line of nations vs. terrorist organization wars. Afghanistan, Iraq and now Lebanon have been bombarded due to their terrorist links. The difference with Lebanon is that Israel is not fighting it’s government, unlike in Afghanistan and Iraq (and Lebanon has no oil…). It’s fighting one particular group, which, unfortuantely, holds a lot of territory. It’s too bad that the infrastructure of the country is going to be completely destroyed, as the country had finally achieved full independence due to last year’s Cedar Revolution. But, the Lebanese army doesn’t have the strength to get rid of Hezbollah.

To me, Israel’s response has been a bit much, but, I can understand what they’re trying to do. Do I agree that Hezbollah acted under direction from Iran to take the focus off the latter’s nuclear ambitions? I don’t know. But since Iran funds Hezbollah, anything’s possible.

I do disagree with the Maclean’s headline asking if this was the beginning of World War III. It’s basically the Crusades all over again, with Christianity/Judaism vs. Islam. I know it’s a broad statement, but I think it’s an interesting analogy. It also helps us to remember that the problems in the Middle East date back thousands of years, and aren’t going to be solved by a visit from any US Secretary of State.

Well, I’m going to go back to the living room and the air conditioner. My room is hot enough and I can’t sit here anymore. Go Riders Go, and if you get a chance, read Linda McQuaig’s “It’s the Crude, Dude”. Interesting stuff…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

