Looking for a break…

Everything that could have possibly gone wrong today has. And hopefully tomorrow will be better because it’s my birthday.

The day started off with a tutorial. I’m beginning to like tutorials, mostly because I can’t believe how many people are historically-challenged. What was the Reformation about? Hmmm. I don’t know. The word reform is in the word…

Anyways, I then headed to the library. I was hoping my wireless internet would work on the laptop I bought on Friday. And that’s a whole other story. Maybe I should start there.

My poor little Compaq Presario could not handle life in the 21st century any longer. It would freeze if I opened two Internet windows. It took forever to download .pdf files, and forget downloading songs. No song downloading site supports Windows 98 anymore. Not even Microsoft supports Windows 98 these days. So, I decided to break down, borrow some money, and get a new computer. I decided on a $1700 IBM ThinkPad because I could get a good deal from the UofS Computer Store, where I got a printer along with various other accessories for $2000. Oh, minus my (woo hoo!) $40 rebate.

I go to pay for this computer and the first try doesn’t work. Remembering that I have a cut off of $1000 on my debit card, we phone the bank in Rosthern to up my limit. Before I went to the store I was having trouble with the Credit Union’s website; it was saying that my account information was unavailable. So after the lady upped my limit, we tried my debit card again, and again, again, and one more time. After multiple calls back in forth, she informed me there was nothing she could do, I’d have to wait until the system was back up. Not happy about this, I took the advice of the store clerk and rushed across town to Riversdale (the equivalent of North Central Regina for you folks out there that are more familiar with that southern city), picked up a certified cheque, rushed back and got my computer. I got home, fell in love with it, and played with it a great deal of the rest of the evening – minus the time I went out to socialize with humans.

I went to sleep on Friday night with not a care in the world. I was going to the Rider game on Saturday, helping with our church’s little kids’ group trip to the Forestry Farm on Sunday. It was going to be a great weekend.

I turned my computer on early Saturday morning because I couldn’t sleep anymore, and I have no Internet. And none on Sunday either. I was sure something was seriously wrong. I’m quite technologically capable, so I was quite concerned when I couldn’t fix it.

Back to yesterday. After I didn’t get wireless Internet on my computer in the library either, I went to the ITS desk. After they configured it – for 45 minutes (even though I told them I’d done that already, but I’m a technically challenged girl, right?) – they told me they couldn’t fix it and sent me to the ITS Helpdesk. After an hour and a half with those guys, their response was, “That’s very, very strange…” (REALLY??? YOU THINK???) They then sent me to the Hardware ITS Helpdesk, where they looked at my computer for another half hour and then proclaimed, “You’re going to have to leave it here for a couple of hours. We’ll call you this afternoon.” My computer is screwed and it’s 4 days old. Why don’t they just give me a new one?

Then I went to get a prescription filled and found out that my medication is being RATIONED. We live in the year 2006 – since when do we need to ration? So now I have to go back in a couple of days to see if the rationing is going to continue. Damn Internet. Everybody in the US gets their drugs from us for cheap, and then we don’t have any for ourselves. Somebody’s got to start regulating this.

My day got worse. Much worse. Now, the guys from ITS said that if they had to replace a part on my computer, they’d order it, then get me to pick it up so I could use it for word processing. They didn’t call. And my Women and Gender studies assignment was due today. I had to start all over. Not nice.

And to top it all off, “Vanished” wasn’t on tonight. And it won’t be on ’til after the World Series, along with “House”, “Standoff”, “Justice” and many more of my favorite shows. The world is not fair.

But tomorrow will be better because it’s my birthday – right?

1 comment
  1. Joel said:

    Was your birthday a better day?

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

