Tell me something I don’t know…

Last night I was working on my political science essay at my parents’ house when our puppy Sadie came into the kitchen. She looked at me with her big brown eyes, widly wagging her tail, pleading for me to give her a piece of the chocolate chip cookie I was eating. I looked at her tail, and commented,

“You know, I’d like a tail. That way people would know when I was happy and I could use it to smack them when I’m not.”

My Dad happened to overhear my pronouncement and remarked, “Somebody’s irrational in this house.”

I burst out laughing. My Dad isn’t one of many words sometimes (other times he won’t shutup), and I’d never heard him use the word “irrational” before. And maybe it was the conversation we had a supper where I pointedly asked him if he was a Communist (I was just trying to get a rise out him – and it worked) because of his complaining about “corporate big boys”, as he termed them, that made the comment even more hilarious, but whatever it was, it was priceless.

It was like the time I was watching TV with Orest and Heather, and I was my usual show-woman self, spitting out jokes and smartcracks left, right and center. All of a sudden Orest says, “Do you feel compelled to entertain?” Of course Heather and I died laughing. We laughed because it’s true. Poor Orest, though. His comment wasn’t based on my behavior but a commercial that had a street busker. I’ve never let him live it down, though…

Well, I should get back to my essay. I’m on page 4 and it’s due on Wednesday. I can’t believe these “working ahead of schedule” activities I’ve been joining in. It must be a gene that is only showing its dominance now. I don’t get it, but I’ll take it…

1 comment
  1. Joel said:

    When I get the urge to do work in advance, I just sit down and let the feeling pass.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

