Reasoning…

Some people have asked me why I bother having a blog. They wonder why someone would want to share their feelings with the rest of the world. I can’t give you one exact reason why. There are many. One is that it makes communication more open. It’s much easier to keep up with the lives of people who have a blog. Personally, I loved hearing about the ins and outs of someone’s life; it makes them feel closer even if they’re far away. Another reason I keep a blog is as a form of dialogue with friends and family. I don’t get to have nearly the amount of quality conversation I used to have when I lived in dorm. There were always people around when you felt like talking. Always people to argue with, compete with – you know me. A third reason I blog is (a least for me) is to vent. I always have a million thoughts floating around, and not wanting to bother anymore with them, I can type them out, send them off into cyberspace and I felt as if I’ve talked to someone. The bonus for you guys is that you can choose whether or not you want to read them.

But I’ve discovered a new medium for discourse. It’s called ‘tutorial’.

I admit that I hated tutorials at the beginning of the year. I thought they were useless and filled with people who sit staring at their books, hoping someone will talk to make the 45 minutes go faster. I didn’t want to say anything for a) fear of disagreement with my opinions (I sometimes don’t deal well with criticism) and b) I didn’t want to become the loudmouth girl who is self-righteous, strongly opinionated and won’t shut up. You know those types of people.

Anyways, I have two tutorials. One on Monday and one on Wednesday. The Monday tutorial is, well, it’s not exactly lively. As we’re doing a lot of studying about the Catholic Church’s history, people seem to be quite anti-church and philosophical. They also don’t seem that tolerant or open-minded, either. Everyone seems easily offended.

Now my Wednesday tutorial – what a difference. Our TA is laid back, we’re allowed to jump all over each other’s opinions and nobody cares. When we leave the room, nobody cares. It’s like a show. You come off the stage and leave your character there. It’s fun. Particularly when I make up far-fetched hypothetical situations such as Regina taking over Saskatoon and telling Saskatoonians they have to leave within a year, or they’ll be deported and dispersed to various Regina territories (basically anywhere south of Regina). There was more laughter about the actualities of this than the point I was trying to make, but that’s okay. I like to be the class clown, too, sometimes.

And on that note, it’s time to go and do something productive. I’m worn out from the non-stop studying and essay writing from the past few days. I’ll give myself this evening to relax and then it’s back to work. One more midterm and 4 essays to go. Oh, the joys of being a humanities major. Thank goodness for tutorials…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap – CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

