Another $12.00 down the drain…

I have $12.00 in library fines. I forgot that I had 4 books due on Friday. Not too smart, Hamm. And now I have to pay $12.00 before I can take out any more books. But this is not unusual for me. No matter how punctual I am in every other aspect of my life, I can never return my library books on time. I wish I knew why. I’d gladly fix it and keep my $12.00.

I was planning on working on my essay this weekend, but that didn’t really happen. My Auntie Hilda and Uncle Gerry were here from Edmonton, so that meant much visiting while playing Scrabble and harassing them about their non-playoff-bound Eskimos. They’re actually my great-aunt and great-uncle, but who cares? So, they helped me write off Saturday.

Yesterday Sadie woke me up at 7:00 am. She does this every weekend. Why my parents don’t close the door to the upstairs I will never know. Or maybe I should do it before I go to bed since it’s always after they’re tucked in for the night. So, I was up early, read a few articles, visited with my Dad for quite awhile and then had a nap. Then I woke up, had lunch and decided I’d better head back to the city. I promised myself I would work very hard when I got home because I had a lot to do. Ha.

I did something quite counterproductive when I bought my new computer. I put The Sims on it. My excuse was that I had these games that I couldn’t use on my computer because it would constantly freeze just try to load it, and I couldn’t waste them any longer. Instead, they’re wasting my time. It’s sad, really, living vicariously through computer-generated people that you control. Maybe it says something about the lack of control I feel I have in my life. It’s a theory with possibilities…

I put much thought and analysis into my tutorial readings for today. And we didn’t go over them. Instead, we spent 45 minutes going over “What is a journal article? Where do you find it? Footnotes should be numbered sequentially. You should not have sources in your bibliography that are not cited in your essay. Don’t double space your footnotes and put them in 12-point font (who DOES that?).” And on, and on, and on… In essence, I was bored for 45 minutes. I could have done some work. I work much better in the morning. I always get a lot done at school in-between classes.

And now I’m home. Procrastinating. Actually, I e-mailed my Women and Gender Studies essay proposal to my professor about 15 minutes ago, and I have a 2 sentences for my globalization paper that is due on Thursday. Last night I decided to change my topic. Lucky for me I can use my textbooks as a source, which defeats the purpose of doing a research paper, but that’s the professor’s problem.

Well, I should get back to work here. I’ll put on some music and see where this paper of mine goes. I’ve been listening to a lot of classical vocal music lately. Renee Fleming particularly, though I pulled out my Anne Sofie von Otter CD yesterday. She’s brilliant. Her interpretations of Alban Berg’s “Sieben fruhe Lieder” (Seven Early/Easy? Songs) are the best I’ve ever heard. I also downloaded a CD by Lori McKenna. She’s alternative country, I’d say. I would never have heard of her had she not been on Oprah with Faith Hill, but she’s an amazing songwriter who says more in a couple of words than I probably every will. I love the lyric: “And you could burn down this town if they made matches from fear.” What an incredible metaphor/image. Her voice isn’t pretty; it’s raw and has substance. I like it.

Okay, enough procrastinating. Back to work. But I’m kind of hungry. Maybe I’ll make supper first…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

