Should I stay, or should I go…

Ah ha! If you’re observant you’ll notice the template change. I had trouble adding links with the other, so I switched to one where I didn’t need to add them. All I had to do was change them. Besides, change is good.

I am debating whether or not I should go to tutorial tomorrow morning. I’m in the studying mood right now, and don’t want to ruin it by going to bed. Decisions, decisions, decisions.

I guess I need to review the Dixie Chicks concert. In one word: amazing. I saw Melissa Etheridge in Portland this past June, and that was a great concert. But I didn’t know a lot of the material, so most of it was lost on me, which was too bad. But I knew pretty much every song at this concert. I’m a ‘recent’ Dixie Chicks convertt, only really beginning to listen to them when they came out with their bluegrass album, ‘Home’. On Thursday night I witnessed what true musicians they are, from violin, to mandolin, to banjo and every type of guitar in between. I felt like I was listening to a CD – that’s how good they were.

I was thanful that there wasn’t a lot of politicking. I’m paying for music, not propaganda. ‘Not Ready to Make Nice’ got a standing ovation, and the Chicks seemed a bit taken aback at the response. I got goosebumps, and because of my cynical ear, I don’t get those too often.

To sum up, it was a great experience, and I’ll gladly go see them again.

The weekend was okay. I went home to Rosthern on Friday for my Aunt Delores’ funeral, stayed the night, was woken up at 5:00 am by Sadie, went to church, was fed lunch by my Grandma and retreated back to the city to do homework. And homework. And more homework.
I had to read Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ for my Women Studies class. I’d never read anything by Atwood, and avoided her novels, for no other particular reason than I thought she was weird. I think I can now say I was greatly misinformed. ‘Tale’ is a strange novel, but it makes its points clearly and provocatively. I’ll read more of Atwood’s work, but not now. I need to recover from this one first.

Today I did more homework (I have 3 essays due in the next 2 1/2 weeks on top of my other readings, summaries, etc.). I then went to Michelle’s where she, Jessica and I watched the ____ beat the Stamps (for an explanation of the ____, see my sports blog). Then I came home, made a few phone calls, had some supper and now I’m procrastinating a little by updating this here blog.

And now I need to get back to work. Feminism is calling…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

