Ahem…

Why do they make Tylenol Cold tablets with this ‘Cool Burst’ sensation? Mint and apple juice just don’t mix. If I want something minty, I’ll brush my teeth. And I bet adding that ‘Cool Burst’ sensation makes the medicine cost even more. Capitalists…

My voice is almost non-existent this morning. That’s good news for some people. 😉 It’s so nice to be sick and not have to worry about how long it’ll be before I can sing again.

This weekend has been great. I went to see the Huskies’ men’s hockey team play Lethbridge both Friday and Saturday night. Unfortunately the rink was a bit cool, which left me longing for the end of the games more often than not. Friday’s game was very exciting, with the Huskies winning 3-2 in overtime. Last night’s game was not as exciting, as the Huskies went up 4-0 in the first period and went on to win 7-0. I was really surprised the game wasn’t a bit rougher after the Huskies’ seventh goal.

It was much better hockey than the Blades action I saw last weekend. Plus, the rink at the U of S is quite small, making you a part of the action. The only disappointing thing was the fact that the fans weren’t very vocal. I found I was the loudest person in the rink, though that’s not unusual for me. 😉

After last night’s game a bunch of us went to play pool at Snookers on 8th street. It’s a nice pool hall on the 2nd floor of a strip mall. It’s very well-kept and well-run. I showed off my inability to play pool, but no one else was that good either. Except my brother. Jeff’s a pool shark! All of those afternoons playing pool at our grandparents paid off for him – obviously they didn’t pay off for me. I did sink 3 in a row at one point, but that was the end of my magic, if you can call it magic.

The girls beat the boys 3 games to 2, which meant the boys had to buy ‘Tacos in a Bag,’ some weird concoction the pool hall advertised on every table. We were more than curious as to what these ‘Tacos in a Bag’ were, and why they cost $3.00. Jeff went to order them, and when the waitress delivered them, she said, and I quote, “What a strange decision, guys. I’ve never had to serve these before.” We found her statement more than odd, especially as these ‘Tacos in a Bag’ are advertised everywhere! They ended up being crushed up tacos in a Doritos bag with a glob of sour cream and some lettuce and a fork with which to eat it. They had run out of taco meat. Jeff paid $3.00 for a small bag of Doritos with some sour cream and lettuce. He liked it, though.

I also went shopping yesterday. Michelle and I had planned to go see ‘The Prestige’ at the cheap theaters, but I ended up dropping $160 of my Christmas money on clothes. 🙂 But, it was something that needed to happen, because I don’t have a lot of sweaters, or wintry clothes. I did not buy one sweater when I lived in BC because I’d just sweat in it. The climate is too damp for sweaters. Here, though, they’re a necessity.

I do have some sad news, though. I had to drop my American Foreign Policy class. I can’t tell you how sad this made me, as I’d been so excited for the class ever since I registered for it last summer. I had to drop it as I didn’t have the proper pre-requisites for it. It requires that I take POLS 260, International Relations. I would have gone to the department head to have them override it, but it’s a full-year course. That makes me think there are some fairly important concepts in it that I should really know before attempting American Foreign policy. So, I dropped it. 😦 I then noticed a lot of the upper years POLS courses require POLS 260. This could be problematic if I want to finish this Political Studies/History degree up next year. It might be intersession for me! Oh well…

1 comment
  1. Joel said:

    Speaking of BC and weather… I’m sure you are glad you got of Vancouver when you did. Wow they are having a terrible winter!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

