"It’s Okay To Cry"

You know those days when you just cry for no reason? I had one of those yesterday. Not fun.

Today is better, though. I did a little shopping for Kirstin’s wedding today, went to school, and now I’m sitting at home, looking forward to spending an ENTIRE evening at home. This might not sound like a big deal, but I cannot remember the last evening I was at home.

Crazy.

And it’ll be a long evening. I was stupid and decided to have a nap at 5:30. I woke up at 8:00. Smart move…

But I did get to watch part of the finale of “American Idol.” One word: saccharine.

I have to get something off my chest – or, mind…

I was listening to NewsTalk 650 this morning on the radio, as I usually do. I like to listen to the news and whatnot. At 8:30 John Gormley comes on the air. I can’t stand Gormley at all, and think most of his listeners are right-wing conservatives, and it shows.

I happened to snooze for a bit this morning, so when the radio came back on again, Gormley & Co. were talking about the recent abandonment of a baby boy in a Walmart in Prince Albert. The only people calling in were men, who repeatedly chastised the behaviour of the woman who left her baby in the toilet.

Now, I don’t believe in abandoning babies, especially not in a toilet. But it was clear from the comments of the all-male callers that they felt this woman should be hanged for her actions.

I could not believe my ears.

Have any of these 40-50 year old men had a baby? It’s biologically impossible. Do they have any idea what this girl must have gone through? She had this baby on her own, and became so utterly desperate, for whatever reason, that she left the baby in the washroom.

I have not had a child. I cannot imagine the fear I would feel if I were to discover right now that I was pregnant.

I don’t think Gormley’s show is a true cross-section of Saskatchewan people. Small ‘l’ liberals generally don’t listen to him, and neither do a lot of women. But I found some of the caller’s comments disturbing, and have felt the same in the past during other debates, namely around homosexual marriage.

There’s the old adage in the Bible that goes something like this: don’t worry about the sawdust in your neighbour’s eye when you’ve got a big ass plank in your own. I am paraphrasing.

We ought to be offering help to this woman and to other women out there trying to go through pregnancy on their own. We need to create a law where women can drop off their newborns without fear of retribution. We need to be more proactive.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

