"Makes Me Wonder"

Oh how I do love my days off. It allows me to catch up with my good friend, Larry King, who is interviewing American Vice President Dick Cheney. I wonder if Cheney will ‘fess up to all of his ‘bad behaviour,’ or if Larry will even try and ask him a question about all that’s gone on…

Gore Vidal once referred to the US as the “United States of Amnesia.” I believe it should really be the “United States of SELECTIVE Amnesia,” because it uses its history to achieve its own ends from time to time. But this is not the point.

Everyone has selective amnesia. Particularly Saskatchewanians. In December we forget what summer feels like, and in summer we forget how cold winter is. Why?

Selective amnesia. This is why nobody seems to have an air conditioner when the temperature is +30. And why I’ve been fielding 50+ calls at work from people looking for air conditioners every day for the past number of weeks. It’s getting a little annoying. Why don’t people in Saskatchewan have fans or air conditioners? How have you survived for this long? And why is it MY fault if we don’t have any because you ‘forgot’ that Saskatchewan in summer can be unbearable? It makes me wonder…

Kudos to the Riders for a splendid performance this past weekend. Some of the plays could be described as art because of their beauty. 54-14. Makes me wonder how they’ll play the Lions this week. The Lions are starting their 3rd stringer, Jarious Jackson, who, unfortunately, has had quite a bit of success against the Green and White. We shall see…

Listening to and love:
Hanson, “Penny and Me” (Yes, I’m listening to Hanson. But it’s grown-up Hanson. There’s a difference. Trust.)
Lori McKenna, “Unglamourous”
Kelly Clarkson, “One Minute”
Miranda Lambert, “Gunpowder and Lead”
Corb Lund, “Hair in My Eyes Like a Highland Steer”
Corinne Bailey Rae, “Breathless”

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

