"My, Oh My"

It’s past 1:30 am, yet I have to rant before I head to bed.

Most of the comments on my blogs from Saskvotes.com have been okay. I get the feeling that most of those who are commenting are right-wing folks, which doesn’t bother me (but I do wonder they have so much time on their hands), except for this one guy who goes by the username of Happybob.

Yes, his name is Happybob.

My first ‘confrontation’ with Happybob occurred in my blog entitled, “Are you bored yet?” Most people have found this campaign. If you don’t believe me, just listen to the radio or talk to your friends. Anyway, in response to my blog, Happybob wrote the following:

“Ok Nicole Hamm – one thing to say you’re bored but don’t leave us hanging like that. Tell us what the issues are that are important to you. The parties are not there to provide you with entertainment you know. Speak up. Call you local campaign offices and tell them what your issues are that no one is talking about and ask them to talk about those issues. Don’t be so vacuous.”

The funny thing is that I had outlined exactly what I wanted the parties to talk about: health care, good roads, education, the economy. I was a little angry at first, but then I kind of thought it was funny. He called me vacuous for goodness sake. And he addressed me by my first and last name. Plus, his username is Happybob!

I hadn’t heard from Happybob again until tonight. I checked the comments to my latest blog, where I invited people to share their seat predictions and lamented the fact that the candidates haven’t been inspiring, passionate, or visionary. Here’s what Happybob had to say:

“Nicole – get another job. If you can honestly say that the Sask Party’s campaign has not had passion and vision then you really need to find another line of work. If you simply used that theme for your piece to get some reaction then, OK you got my reaction. If you honestly believe what you wrote then off you go to Tim’s.
The NDP did nothing but use fear and smear. There was their debate or lack of it. The different policy platforms were in stark contrast to each other. Come on, Nicole!! Don’t leave us hanging here. How about some meat to your discourse – as in ” what would you as a Leader have done to liven-up the campaign? It is one thing to dis the parties and their campaign but you offer NOTHING as an alternative. Really – get a new job.”

Happybob is obviously a SK Party supporter. I have no problem with that. I don’t support the party, but each of us is allowed to voice our own opinion. Personally, I thought the SK Party ran a solid campaign, but a safe one. This means that they stuck to the gameplan and talking points, which allowed them to have a mistake-free campaign, but one that was a little dull. But notice that in my blog I didn’t specifically say that the SK Party was dull. I said the campaign as a whole was boring.

Now Happybob obviously thinks I’m an NDP supporter, since he thinks that my idea of inspiration includes NDP attack ads. He’s wrong. I’ve been an NDP supporter in the past, but I’m not a card-carrying member.

Happybob frustrates because all he does is simply rant. It’s clear he hasn’t actually read my blog. If he had, he’d know that I didn’t ‘diss’ one particular party (and he really needs to learn how to spell, format, etc.), and didn’t ‘diss’ them just because I have a blog. To the contrary. I think people are looking for their politicians to inspire them, to give them a reason to look past the cynicism of politics and engage in the democratic process. I wanted the leaders to give us long-term visions of the province. Obviously happybob missed reading that bit, or he wouldn’t have claimed that there’s ‘no meat to my discourse.’

Now I’ve read pretty much every blog on saskvotes.com out of interest and to make sure that I’m not blogging about the same things others are. I’ve noticed that Happybob has not commented on anything except my blogs and the ‘3 Jenns’ segments, to which he said, “Enough already.” I suspect that happybob doesn’t have a high regard for female political opinions, but I don’t have any proof to substantiate that claim.

Happybob ends his rant by telling me that I need to get a new job. Well, he should be happy to find out that I am only a mere volunteer. He thinks I’m a terrible blogger because I don’t offer any alternatives. Well Happybob, it’s a blog, not a PhD dissertation. I’m writing my own gut reactions to the campaign, not trying to ‘fix’ it.

I’d rant more about stupid Happybob, but it’s now after 2 am, and I’ve wasted 1/2 an hour angry at this person who isn’t even ‘man’ enough to sign a comment with his own name.

Happybob, I have two words for you, and they rhyme with “duck coo.” (Sorry Mom)

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

