"We are the Champions!"

Gene Makowsky said it best: “Tough times don’t last, but tough people do.”

But before I get to the Grey Cup, let me just get 4 things out of the way that have been irritating me…
1. People in the rest of the country need to learn how to pronounce our province’s name. The emphasis is NOT on the last syllable, but on the 2nd one.
2. Sid Seixeiro – I’m coming for you. As my Mom said, “We’ve only won 2 Grey Cups. It shouldn’t be that hard to remember when.” This doofus said that we hadn’t won the Grey Cup since 1988. It’s 1989 you idiot. As soon as I find your email address, you’ll be hearing from me.
3. Khari Jones mentioning Danny Barrett and Roy Shivers at the end of CBC’s broadcast. While I appreciate what those two men did for the team, this year’s addition was nothing compared to last year’s Riders. This year’s Riders were confident, a true team and respectful of their opponents. It’s Eric Tillman who brough us Wes Cates, Corey Holmes, John Chick, DJ Flick. It’s Kent Austin who remade Kerry Joseph into an All-Star, Most Outstanding Player, Grey Cup-wining, championship-calibre quarterback. It’s the Tillman/Austin regime that made the players believe in themselves. Leave Barrett and Shivers out of it.
4. Wally Buono, I hate you more than ever. You are completely classless. How dare you take away from one team’s Grey Cup victory by announcing a press conference for THE DAY AFTER GREY CUP were you will annouce that you are releasing your former star quarterback. It is only common courtesy that teams wait until a week after Grey Cup to make any major announcements, as it takes away from the Grey Cup winner’s victory. What a sore loser you are! You make me sick, angry and pissed off. And we will kill you next year. Count on it.

Anyway…

That was a hell of a lot harder than it should have been. I’m watching the game again, as CBC is rebroadcasting it. The Riders has so many opportunities to put this game away. So many dropped passes, so many red zone bustups. I was pretty sure all those opportunities would come back to bite us in the ass. But they didn’t.

It proves that God is a Rider fan. There’s that saying that God doesn’t give people more than they can handle. Well, He knows how strong Rider fans are, otherwise He wouldn’t let us suffer so much. But that’s an argument for another day.

John Chick had a FANTASTIC game! We’ve finally found Fred Perry’s complement. The great thing is that o-lines now have TWO people to double teamn – Perry and Chick. Actually, I think Chick and Perry sounds better. But we need some sort of nickname for them.

James Johnson had a great game, too – minus the Armstrong touchdown. The interception return for TD was crucial. Without that, we lose the game.

Andy Fantuz – what can you say about this guy? I seriously want to be the mother of his children. And in 20 years time, when he’s retired and I’m Prime Minister, we’ll sit down and watch the Riders win their 20th Grey Cup in a row, and he’ll say to me, “My beautiful Nicole, let me tell you about that 2007 Grey Cup…” Hey – it’s Grey Cup! Give me a little time to dream!

Eddie Davis – Nobody talked about him, but he kept his eyes on Milt Stegall all game.

Defensive line – Charles Roberts had nowhere to run today. Enough said.

Kerry Joseph – I know everyone’s going to jump all over him, saying he can’t play in the big game, blah, blah, blah, blah. Well, Winnipeg’s defence was the best in the league against the pass this year. They showed it. But, KJ used his legs when he had no other choice, which is the measure of a true champion. He did what he had to when he had to. He did enough to get it done today. Plus, I think some of the playcalling was a little weird.

And what about Matt Dominguez? Everybody talked about how different this game would have been if Kevin Glenn had played. How ’bout if Dominguez had been healthy down the stretch? Just sayin’…

And the officiating was a bit better, minus the missed horse-collar tackle, facemask, offside on freaking Armstrong tackle. But the video replay saved a couple of blown calls, which was good.

Kent Austin is now a Saskatchewan hero. He’s the only one, along with Richie Hall, who’s been a part of 2 Rider Grey Cups.

How ’bout the defence? They sucked in the middle of the year, but at the end, they were the ones who were on fire. Defence wins championships.

Honestly, I can’t believe we actually won. I’m still in a state of shock. But I had tears in my eyes at the end of the game. This province deserves this win so much. I really think this Grey Cup is a symbol for all that’s right in Saskatchewan right now. We are the heart and soul of this country. Today we once again showed why we are. Let’s repeat in 2008!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

