"Christmas Time is Here"

With Christmas beginning earlier and earlier with each and every passing year, I have to admit that this time of year is beginning to lose some of its magic for me. I was chatting about this with one of the guys at work last night, saying that Christmas just isn’t as special as it used to be. I don’t know if that’s part of getting older, or if it’s the fact that I always have exams and therefore this time of year is very stressful, or if it’s because I now live close to home, so going home isn’t as significant an event as it once was. Maybe it’s a combination of many things. Or maybe I’m just cynical…

Anyway…

In hopes of regaining that ‘Christmas magic,’ I downloaded some music from my childhood that will hopefully bring back some Christmas memories. The first one was The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don’t Be Late); you know – the one where Alvin wants a hoola hoop. This song still makes me laugh; and it’s catchy. I’ll probably be singing it the rest of the day.

Another of my favourite Christmas albums is Jewel’s CD. My cousin Andy bought it for me, saying it was very good. I was skeptical, but I fell in love with it. Her version of O Holy Night is exquisite.

I also downloaded the soundtrack to A Charlie Brown Christmas and A Boney M Christmas. My Mom used to always get out her Boney M Christmas album at this time of year; Mary’s Boy Child is their classic.

What else?

I have two finals this week: one is a take home, the other I already have all of the questions for. Unfortunately this means that I actually have to PREPARE. I’d rather just study and then go in and make it up. Preparing in advance mean profs expect better answers. Not a fan.

I’ve decided that I’m going to apply for the Masters program in Political Science. It’s only one year, and one of my professors said he’s going to try and convince me to do it. Well, I then talked to one of the ladies at work who works in the Grad Studies admissions office. She then talked to her boss, who said that if my professor asked me to do it, I’d probably get some funding for it. She also said that they have trouble getting U of S students to stay, so they’d probably help me out if I was willing to stay. We’ll see…

I bought the Pirate 3 DVD! I had planned to watch it when I got home from work last night, but no such luck. I was up really late, but didn’t feel like listening to any more noise; I wanted silence.

It’s amazing how busy work has become the past week or so. With the opening of the new Clarence Avenue overpass and the opening of some of the surrounding businesses, we’ve sure been a lot busier. It’s good and bad. It’s good because I’m never bored; it’s bad because my stress level at work is a lot higher.

I guess I’d better get studying here. I gave myself a day off yesterday; now it’s back to the grind…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap – CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

