"Go Ahead"

Once again, the Iowa caucuses are NOT democratic. Their meaning has been blown significantly out of proportion by the win of Barack Obama last week. Let’s just remember what happens in these caucuses: people get into a room and they stand in the corner designated for their candidate. The bottom two vote-getters are dropped, and the process begins again until the top two candidates are decided. People yell and scream, and one’s vote is counted IN PUBLIC. I hesitate to call this process ‘democratic’ because of the lack of a secret ballot and possible incidences of ‘groupthink’ (the fact that people in groups are more likely to stick with group consensus than go it alone).

I’ve finally realized whom I want to win the Democratic nomination: Hillary Clinton. I only realized it after reading John Ibbitson’s article, “Obama’s Rise, America’s Renewal,” in Saturday’s online edition of The Globe and Mail. I then went to work and had a discussion about it with one of my co-workers.

Here’s what made me come to my conclusion: I love Barack Obama’s message. I do. The little idealist inside me so badly wants to support him and watch him right the wrongs of the world. But the big cynic inside me reminds me that idealism has no place in the real world. Clinton is far more practical. I think Obama could be a great President, but not in 2008. He doesn’t have the experience. And while he would surround himself with those who did, the US’ position in the international system is far too important at this point in time to leave to a rookie. Experience at this important juncture in international relations is key to maintaining stability in the world. Personally, I think Obama should run for Vice President. I think he and Clinton would be an incredible ticket to contend with.

As for the Republicans, I cringe at the sight of every one of them, except for John McCain. Unfortunately he believes in overturning Roe vs. Wade (which would lead to basically ending the legality of abortion), which makes me unable to support him in any way, but I do think he’s the one with the most brains and experience on that side of the divide, especially when in comes to foreign policy. I don’t really care who wins the Republican nomination. I don’t think they can win.

Really, when all is said and done, I just want a Democrat to win. I’ve had enough of Republican foolishness now to last a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

